Join ARMACAD Today

Join over 100,000 researchers, students and professionals.

Subscribe and get new opportunities every day.

Sign Up

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships, UK


May 03, 2016

Opportunity Cover Image - Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships, UK

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships offer the opportunity to study for a UK Master’s degree while living and working in your home country.

The scheme was established in 2002, as part of the CSC’s and DFID’s commitment to exploring new methods of scholarship delivery. To date, nearly 1,000 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships have been awarded.

Rather than offering these scholarships directly to students, the CSC works with UK universities to identify appropriate courses and recruit candidates.

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships support candidates to study Master’s degree courses that are either offered in partnership with universities in developing countries, or delivered directly by UK institutions.

You can apply for a 2016 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship for the following Master’s courses. For full details of these courses and the application process, you should contact the relevant institution.

Cardiff University

  • MSc Palliative Medicine and Care  (available to citizens of Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka only)

Bangor University

  • MSc Tropical Forestry

Open University

  • MSc Environmental Management (available to citizens of Kenya only)
  • MA Online and Distance Education

Queen Mary, University of London

  • MSc Burn Care
  • MSc Endocrinology and Diabetes
  • MSc Gastroenterology
  • MSc Orthopaedic Trauma Science
  • MSc Trauma Sciences

Royal Veterinary College

  • MSc Veterinary Epidemiology and Public Health (available to citizens of Sri Lanka only)

SOAS, University of London

  • MSc Public Financial Management (available to citizens of Malawi and Tanzania only)

UCL Institute of Education

  • MA Education and International Development (available to citizens of Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda only)
  • MA Education, Gender and International Development (available to citizens of Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda only)
  • MA Education, Health Promotion and International Development (available to citizens of Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda only)

University of Birmingham

  • MSc International Development (Conflict, Security and Development)

University of Edinburgh

  • MSc Biodiversity, Wildlife and Ecosystem Health
  • MSc Clinical Education
  • MVetSci Conservation Medicine
  • MSc Family Medicine
  • MSc Global Challenges
  • MSc Global eHealth
  • MSc Global Health and Infectious Disease
  • MSc International Animal Health
  • MSc One Health
  • MSc Paediatric Emergency Medicine
  • MPH Public Health

University of Leicester

  • MSc Risk, Crisis and Disaster Management

University of Liverpool

  • MPH Public Health

University of Oxford

  • MSt International Human Rights Law

University of Southampton

  • MSc Global Ageing and Policy
  • MSc Gerontology

University of Stirling

  • MSc Dementia Studies (available to applicants from Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka only)

University of Strathclyde

  • MSc Finance (available to applicants from Kenya, Malawi, and Tanzania only)
  • MSc Hydrogeology (available to applicants from Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe only)

University of St Andrews

  • MSc in Sustainable Aquaculture

University of York

  • MA Public Policy and Management


To apply for these scholarships, you must:

  • Be a citizen of a developing Commonwealth country, refugee, or British protected person
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases

Terms and conditions

For full terms and conditions, see the Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2016 prospectus

How to apply

You must make your application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). Click here for full information on how to use the EAS, including detailed guides.

Before applying, you must check with your UK university for their specific advice and rules for applying. You will be required to complete a university application form in addition to your EAS application form.

All applications must be submitted by 23:59 (BST) on 3 May 2016.

How to access the EAS


All enquiries about these scholarships should be directed to the university to which you wish to apply.

Please note that the CSC does not charge candidates to apply for any of its scholarships or fellowships through its Electronic Application System (EAS), and it does not charge organisations to nominate candidates

Host Country
Study Levels
Publish Date
March 14, 2016


Subscribe to our newsletter

and receive information about international academic and professional opportunities

scholarships, summer schools, conferences, grants, fellowships, trainings

Sign Up