Fully-Funded Civil Society Leadership Awards 2020, University of St Andrews, UK

University of St Andrews

Opportunity Cover Image - Fully-Funded Civil Society Leadership Awards 2020, University of St Andrews, UK

Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA)

2020 entry

The Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) provide fully funded master’s degree study to individuals who clearly demonstrate academic and professional excellence and a deep commitment to leading positive social change in their communities.

CSLA directly assists future leaders in countries where civil society is challenged by a deficit of democratic practice in local governance and social development.

Geographical criteria

  • Afghanistan
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Cambodia
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Laos
  • Libya
  • Myanmar/Burma
  • Republic of Congo
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan

Domicile for fee status


Level of study

Postgraduate Masters

Year of entry

First year


MLitt International Security Studies, MLitt Middle East, Caucasus and Central Asian Security Studies, MSc Sustainable Development, MLitt International Political Theory, MLitt Strategic Studies, MLitt Museum and Gallery Studies, MLitt Film Studies


International Relations, Geography & Geosciences, Art History, Film Studies

Additional criteria

Applicants must:

  • Be a citizen of an eligible country.
  • Demonstrate maturity, flexibility, and civil society leadership potential.
  • Have a bachelor's degree awarded before 15 May 2019 and an excellent academic record.
  • Demonstrate professional experience in a relevant area.
  • Demonstrate proficiency in the language of instruction (English, German or French) at a level required for admission by host universities.
  • Be able to participate in an intensive pre-academic summer school in July or August 2020 and start their degree program in August or September 2020.
  • Be able to receive and maintain a visa or study permit as required by the host country.
  • Demonstrate a clear commitment to return to their home country or region to continue supporting open society development.

Duration of award

1 year

Value of award

  • Tuition and mandatory university fees;
  • Monthly stipend for room, board, and other living expenses;
  • Program-related travel;
  • Accident and sickness insurance during the program;
  • Funds for educational materials and professional development;
  • Attendance at a regional grantee conference;
  • Pre-academic preparation via summer schools

Tuition or maintenance award?

Tuition and Maintenance

Number of awards available

2020 entry number of awards to be confirmed shortly.

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

Host Country
Study Levels
Publish Date
February 17, 2020
Link To Original