The 2016 AGFUND International Prize For Development Projects


June 30, 2016

Opportunity Cover Image - The 2016 AGFUND International Prize For Development Projects

AGFUND International Prize for Pioneering Human Development Projects was established in 1999 by the Arab Gulf Programme for Development (AGFUND), with the aim of inciting and encouraging innovation and creativity in the areas of human development. The idea of the Prize was stemmed from AGFUND’s approach to enhance development performance and support key development projects in order to achieve the goal of sustainability and investment in people.
In this sense, AGFUND Prize is considered to be the first initiative of its kind to identify successful development projects, reward them and disseminate their innovative ideas to best contribute to the improvement of development work. It is also an innovative approach and a strategic instrument to exchange successful experiences to strengthen the mechanisms of development cooperation and project funding with special emphasis on the most prominent factors that militate against development and affect the vulnerable groups, particularly women and children in developing countries. These include poverty, social exclusion, socio-economic marginalization, education and health.

Prize Objective

AGFUND Prize aims to:

  1. Support the distinguished efforts aiming at the promotion and development of the concepts and dimensions of human development.
  2. Disseminate the successful project experiences.
  3. Highlight the best practices, which aim to improve the living conditions of the poor and disadvantaged with particular emphasis on women and children.
  4. Enhance the exchange of experiences and develop better mechanisms to find solutions to the problems of poverty, marginalization and socioeconomic exclusion of vulnerable groups.

Prize Awards and Categories

The AGFUND Prize comprises:

a) Cash amount of US$ 500,000 (Five hundred thousand dollars) distributed
as follows:

  1. First category: US$ 200,000
  2. Second category: US$ 150,000
  3. Third category: US$ 100,000
  4. Fourth category: US$ 50,000

b) Certificate of Recognition and trophies given to all winning projects in all categories.

AGFUND Prize is consisted of four categories:

First Category : Projects that are funded, designed and implemented by UN agencies or international and regional NGOs.
Second Category : Projects that are funded designed and implemented by national NGOs.
Third Category : Projects that are funded designed and implemented by government ministries and public agencies.
Fourth Category : Projects that are funded designed and implemented by individuals.

Evaluation Process

The nominated projects are evaluated by an International Team of Evaluators selected on the basis of their international experience in evaluating development projects, their thorough knowledge of the theme of the Prize for the year and indeed for their objectivity and fair assessment. The composition of this Team may vary from one year to another, depending on the thematic focus selected for each year.
Eligible nominations of all categories are evaluated in accordance of specific criteria dealing with the elements of creativity in the project, the efficiency and effectiveness of its management as well as the impact of the project. The evaluation shall be conducted based on the information provided in the Nomination Form, all documents sent in support of the nomination and on field visits to the project site if the need arises.


The nominator shall submit only brief information about the project as requested in SECTION ONE, which is assigned for nominators. Detailed information should be submitted by the implementing agency as requested in SECTION THREE. The nominator should be an agency or a qualified expert who is thoroughly aware of the project, in terms of design, objectives, target beneficiaries, funding, implementation and successful impact.


Host Country
Publish Date
May 25, 2016
Link To Original