Awards for Women Scientists in Engineering, Innovation and Technology 2017


September 15, 2016

Opportunity Cover Image - Awards for Women Scientists in Engineering, Innovation and Technology 2017


The Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World, are high-profile awards for scientific and career achievements by women from developing countries in five regions: Latin America and the Caribbean, the Arab region, Sub-Saharan Africa, Central and South Asia, and East and South-East Asia and the Pacific. The theme for 2017 will be engineering, technology and innovation. Nominations will be accepted through September 15, 2016.

The awards are sponsored and organized by The Elsevier Foundation, the Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD) and The World Academy of Sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries (TWAS). The competition will be judged by a distinguished panel of international scientists; one winner from each region will be announced in February 2017 at the annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in Boston. The five winners will each receive a cash prize of US$5,000 and all-expenses paid attendance at the AAAS meeting. The winners will also receive one-year access to Elsevier's ScienceDirect and Scopus.

Dr. Ethel Nakimuli-Mpungu, the 2016 African winner and psychiatric epidemiologist at Makerere University College of Health Sciences in Kampala, Uganda, noted: “Winning the Elsevier Foundation Award was an honor beyond measure. Finally, my ten years of research received the recognition they deserved. The award resulted in more visibility for my research nationally and internationally. It opened doors to more research collaborations and increased opportunities, as well as invitations to high-level global meetings.” Dr. Mpungu’s research focuses on mental health interventions for HIV/AIDS patients suffering from depression. After receiving her award, she was recognized with a Presidential Medal on International Women's Day as one of the Women Achievers in Uganda.

Nominations for the 2017 awards will be accepted for early-career women scientists working in engineering who have received their PhDs within the past 10 years and live in one of the 81 scientifically lagging countries as defined by TWAS. All nominations will be reviewed by a committee of eminent researchers who represent the five regions, including members of TWAS and OWSD, and chaired by OWSD President Jennifer Thomson.

Discussing the awards, Thomson commented: “I urge all young women working in these fields to make sure you are nominated. The voices and perspectives of women are sorely lacking in these areas of science. You can make a difference!”
Romain Murenzi, Executive Director of TWAS, said, "It's very exciting that the Elsevier Foundation Awards, for the first time, will focus on engineering." Engineering is essential for achieving the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals – in areas as diverse as energy and water, industrial development, and in building cities of the future. The 2017 Elsevier Foundation Awards will show us the excellent results women are achieving in engineering, and encourage women's future work in these fields."
“We have worked with OWSD and TWAS to develop these awards over the past 5 years – and we’re really starting to see the benefits that recognition and role models have on women scientists from developing countries. Our award winners from past years are truly emerging as leaders both in their fields and among their own communities of women scientists,” commented David Ruth, Executive Director of the Elsevier Foundation.


The nominee must be a female scientist; have received her PhD within the previous 10 years; and have lived and worked in one of the following developing countries during the three years immediately prior to the nomination:

Latin America and the Caribbean: Belize, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname.

East and South-East Asia and the Pacific: Bhutan, Cambodia, Indonesia, Kiribati, Korea DPR, Lao PDR, Mongolia, Myanmar, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Vietnam.

Arab region: Comoros Islands, Djibouti, Mauritania, Somalia, Sudan, Yemen.
Central and South Asia: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Nepal, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan.

Sub-Saharan Africa: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo Dem. Rep., Congo Rep., Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.


The competition will be judged by a distinguished panel of international scientists, including members of TWAS, OWSD and ICTP, and chaired by OWSD. The assessment will be based on achievements in the field, with particular attention paid both to the nominees’ contribution to capacity-building in their region, as well as international impact. Winners will be informed of their selection in November 2016.

Nominations are invited from senior academics, including OWSD members, TWAS Fellows, ICTP visiting scientists and staff, national science academies, national research councils and heads of departments/universities both in developing and developed countries. Please note that self-nominations are not accepted. Nominations must be made on the nomination form and signed by the nominator; they must include the candidate's curriculum vitae and full list of publications; and be accompanied by three reference letters.

To APPLY click "Further official information" below and fill the appliaction form.

Publish Date
September 05, 2016
Link To Original