European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards 2018


October 01, 2017

Opportunity Cover Image - European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards 2018

European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards 2018

The EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards has further strengthened the capacity of the heritage sector in Europe by highlighting best practices, encouraging the cross-border exchange of knowledge and connecting various stakeholders in wider networks. It has also brought major benefits to the winners, such as greater (inter)national exposure, follow-on funding and increased visitor numbers. In addition, it has raised awareness of our shared heritage amongst the general public while highlighting its intrinsic European character. The Prize is therefore a key tool to promote Europe’s heritage.

In the past 15 years, organisations and individuals from 39 countries have submitted a total of 2,720 applications for the Awards. Concerning the number of entries by country, Spain is first in the ranking, with 498 projects, followed by the United Kingdom, with 286 applications, and Italy, with 278 entries. With regard to the categories, Conservation has had the most submissions (1,606). Next comes Education, Training and Awareness-Raising (457), then Research (340), and, finally, Dedicated Service to Heritage (317).

Since 2002, independent expert juries have selected 455 award-winning projects from 34 countries. In line with the number of entries, Spain tops the list with 61 awards received. The United Kingdom is in second place with 60. Italy comes third (37 awards), Germany fourth (29 awards), and Greece fifth (27 awards). Regarding the categories, Conservation has the most winners (267) followed by Dedicated Service to Heritage (67), Education, Training and Awareness-Raising (65), and, lastly, Research (56).

A total of 95 Grand Prix of €10,000 have been presented to outstanding heritage initiatives, selected from among the award-winning projects.


Entries may be submitted from the countries that take part in the Creative Europe programme of the European Commission.
You can still apply for a Europa Nostra Award if your country is not on the list of eligible countries.

Countries eligible for the EU Prize:
Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, FYROM, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom and Ukraine.

Countries eligible for the Europa Nostra Awards only:
Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, the Holy See, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Monaco, the Russian Federation, San Marino, Switzerland and Turkey.


There are 4 categories:

- Conservation
Outstanding achievements in the conservation, enhancement and adaptation to new uses of cultural heritage in any of the above-mentioned areas.
- Research
Outstanding research projects which lead to tangible effects in the conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe in any of the above-mentioned areas.
- Dedicated Service
Open to individuals or organisations whose contributions over a long period of time demonstrate excellence in the protection, conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage relating to any of the above-mentioned areas in Europe and far exceeding normal expectations in the given context.
- Education, Training and Awareness-Raising
Outstanding initiatives related to education, training and awareness-raising in the field of tangible and/or intangible cultural heritage in any of the above-mentioned areas, to promote and/or to contribute to the sustainable development of the environment.


- Architectural Heritage: single buildings or groups of buildings in rural or urban setting;
- Building additions or alterations, or new building projects within historic areas;
- Industrial and engineering structures and sites;
- Cultural landscapes: historic urban environments or townscapes, city or town squares and streetscapes;
- Historic parks and gardens, larger areas of designed landscape or of cultural, environmental and/or agricultural significance;
- Archaeological sites, including underwater archaeology;
- Works of art and collections: collections of artistic and historic significance or old works of art;
- Intangible cultural heritage as practices, representations, expressions, as well as the knowledge and skills that communities, groups and, in some cases, individuals recognise as part of their cultural heritage;
- Digitisation projects of cultural heritage.

Awards type

Winners receive a certificate as well as a plaque or a trophy, depending on the category. Grand Prix receive a monetary award of € 10.000. There is also a special certificate for a Public Choice Award. 

The Public Choice Award is given to the most voted winner, following an online poll hosted on the Europa Nostra website.
Until 3 May, citizens from around the world can vote and campaign for 3 favourite winning projects. Voters have the chance to win a trip for two to Finland and be a special guest at the European Heritage Awards Ceremony in Turku on 15 May. 


Applications for the 2018 edition of the Awards can be submitted from 15 May to 1 October 2017 via the original website.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

Publish Date
May 13, 2017
Link To Original