The Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award 2019, UK

Publish Date: Feb 13, 2019

Deadline: Feb 28, 2019

 The Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award

The Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award is an annual prize of £5,000 awarded to innovative scholarship demonstrated within a PhD or DBA thesis in any discipline within management and organisation studies. The award is supported by the Journal of Management Studies (JMS) and the Society for the Advancement of Management Studies (SAMS), a charitable organisation which supports capacity building in business and management research.

Grigor McClelland was the founder of SAMS, the founding editor of JMS, and the founding Director of Manchester Business School.


The Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award aims to promote and recognize innovative PhD or DBA research in management and organization studies. The Award does not specify any preference towards topic or method; its primary focus is to recognize and award doctoral research that is expansive and imaginative in that it covers significantly new terrain or counters existing thinking within management and organisational research.


To be eligible for the 2019 Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award, candidates must have completed their doctoral dissertation and received the final award of their PhD or DBA within 2018.

Application process

Candidates who wish to be considered for the award are asked to submit:

1. One fully completed application form.

2. One digital copy of their entire dissertation in English.

3. An extended abstract of up to 5 pages, single-spaced, (any tables or references are included in the page limit). The abstract should:
a. summarise the thesis and detail the originality of the theory development and empirical results as well as the implications for research and practice.
b. be a separate document that does not mention the author’s name, degree-granting university, or current employment.
c. identify the 3 to 5 most important conclusions.
d. not state that some sections of the dissertation have been published, reviewed favourably by journals, or submitted for publication.

4. Proof of the final award of their qualification (i.e. certificate, or similar).

Applications for the award should be electronically submitted to Joanne Cheseldine, ( before 16:00 GMT on Thursday, 28th February, 2019.

Award Committee and Judging Process

The shortlisting and selection of the award winner will be carried out by a panel of senior scholars within management and organization studies. The panel consists of representatives from SAMS, JMS and EGOS. The prize will be awarded to the work that, in the opinion of the panel, was truly novel and creative in its theory development, use of methods or the empirical contexts covered in the dissertation.

The winner will be announced during a special session at the 2019 EGOS conference in Edinburgh, UK. In this session the shortlisted candidates for the award will present their research, followed by the award presentation and a reception. Finalists will be invited to submit a paper based on their thesis for publication in the Journal of Management Studies. A stipend will be awarded to each of the finalists to cover reasonable travel and accommodation expenses for attending this session, plus conference registration.

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities



Study Levels



Opportunity Types


Financial aid

Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United Kingdom