Samuel H. Kress Foundation History of Art: Institutional Fellowships 2017

Publish Date: Apr 19, 2017

Deadline: Nov 30, 2017

History of Art: Institutional Fellowships

Advanced training in European art history requires direct exposure to the object of study, prolonged access to key information resources such as libraries and photographic archives, the development of professional relationships with colleagues abroad, and sustained immersion in European cultures. These related needs are often best satisfied by extended engagement with a European art research center. The Kress History of Art: Institutional Fellowships are intended to provide promising young art historians with the opportunity to experience just this kind of immersion.

The Foundation strongly urges its grantees and fellowship administrators to help diversify the next generation of art historians, art conservators, and art museum professionals by adopting an inclusive approach to all Kress-sponsored partnerships and educational and training opportunities.


Six pre-doctoral Kress Institutional Fellowships in the History of European Art will be awarded each year. Each fellowship provides for a two-year research appointment hosted by one of the following European art history research centers:

  • Florence Kunsthistorisches Institut / Institute for Art History
  • Leiden Leiden University Centre for the Arts in Society (LUCAS)
  • London Courtauld Institute of Art & Warburg Institute of Art (jointly administered)
  • Munich Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte / Central Institute for Art History
  • Paris Institut national d'histoire de l'art (INHA) / National Institute for the History of Art
  • Rome Bibliotheca Hertziana

The fellowship award is $30,000 per annum.


Restricted to pre-doctoral candidates in the history of art and related disciplines (such as archaeology, architecture, or classics). Nominees must be U.S. citizens or individuals matriculated at an American university. Dissertation research must focus on European art from antiquity to the early 19th century. Candidates must be nominated by their academic department.

Please note: Each university is limited to two nominees per academic department. The nominees must be applying for different research centers.


As of October 2011 the Kress Institutional Fellowships are being administered by the host institutions listed above. Please consult carefully the Application Guidelines and Fellowship FAQs for complete details.


Applications must be RECEIVED by November 30.
If the deadline falls on a weekend, applications must be received by the previous Friday.

In addition to these six Institutional Fellowships, the Kress Foundation supports art history fellowships at other institutions.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities


Art History




Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries


Host Countries





United Kingdom