Caribbean Catastrophe Risk Insurance Facility Scholarships

Publish Date: Mar 14, 2016

Deadline: May 22, 2016

Caribbean Catastrophe Risk Insurance Facility Scholarships

CCRIF SPC (formerly the Caribbean Catastrophe Risk Insurance Facility) is a risk pooling company, owned, operated and registered in the Caribbean to serve governments in the Wider Caribbean Region and their communities in reducing the economic impact of natural catastrophes. Through the CCRIF Scholarship Programme of the CCRIF Technical Assistance Programme, the facility provides scholarships to students at the post-graduate level to pursue study in areas related to disaster risk management.

CCRIF provides a maximum of four scholarships annually for students pursuing a Masters or an MBA programme in a number of pre-identified areas (see eligibility criteria) which are available at universities in the United Kingdom, United States and Canada and at eligible universities in the Caribbean, other than the University of the West Indies (UWI)*.

*Note that CCRIF provides scholarships for study at UWI through the CCRIF-UWI Scholarship Programme, which is administered by UWI. All applications to this programme are managed by UWI and applicants are required to apply directly to UWI.


Applications for the 2016 CCRIF Scholarships are hereby invited from individuals whoare citizens of CARICOM member countries and/or CCRIF member countries in the Caribbean1.

Eligible programmes include one-year Masters-level courses in the following areas which are available at eligible regional universities** or at universities in the United Kingdom/ United States/Canada:

  • (Catastrophe) Risk Management
  • Property/Casualty Insurance
  • Meteorology
  • Other hazard/disaster related disciplines

Eligible programmes also include an MBA with a Major in risk management and/or insurance or a related field.

Online programmes available through eligible regional universities or at universities in the United Kingdom/ United States/Canada are also eligible for these scholarships.

**Eligible regional universities are accredited universities in any CARICOM member country or CCRIF member country.

Applicants should be holders of a First Class or Upper Second Class Honours degree (or have a GPA of at least 3.0) and have some related work experience.

Value of Award

The scholarships are valued at a maximum of US$40,000 each (for extra-regional universities) or $20,000 (for regional universities) and are specifically for those applicants who would have gained admission to a Masters level programme or an MBA programme fitting the eligibility criteria presented above.

The scholarships will be awarded to applicants who have demonstrated academic excellence, are involved in, or currently work in the field of risk/disaster management or sustainable development in the Caribbean and have a record of broader community involvement.

Preference will be given to individuals seeking to attend eligible regional universities and persons with supporting nominations from publically-funded (government) national and regional agencies whose mandates are specific to risk management, disaster management, meteorology, engineering or environmental management.

In the event that the CCRIF scholarship does not cover the total cost of attendance for a specified programme of study, the candidate will be required to demonstrate the availability of support funding to cover the entirety of the programme being considered.


  • Recipients must be registered full-time (except in the case of online programmes).
  • Recipients will be bonded to work in the Caribbean for a period of three years immediately after graduation.
  • Scholarships will not be awarded until a bonding agreement has been established and signed between the nominated scholarship recipient and the government of the respective country or other authorized institution and until all visa requirements have been met.
  • Recipients will be required to sign an agreement with CCRIF agreeing to the terms and conditions of the scholarship prior to the commencement of their programme.
  • Students who withdraw from the programme without good reason and the approval of the Academic Director, or who fail to complete the programme, will be required to repay the award.
  • Students who fail to complete the bonding period will be required to repay the award.
  • Students are expected to achieve academic excellence and are required to ensure that grades are at least a Merit grade.
  • A report on academic performance will be required upon completion of each semester of academic study.


* Denotes a mandatory field - your submission will not be accepted until all such fields are complete.

  • Please affix your name to the documents to be uploaded. For example: JohnBrown_Application Form.ext
  • Names of the uploaded documents must match their contents.

Applications must be submitted via the CCRIF online scholarship programme platform at: no later than May 22, 2016. 

For additional information or for clarification, please email: 

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities


Business Administration

Study Levels


Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries


Antigua and Barbuda





Cayman Islands





Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saint Lucia

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Trinidad and Tobago

Turks and Caicos Islands

Host Countries


United Kingdom

United States