Harvard Kennedy School Arctic Initiative Program 2018, USA

Publish Date: Dec 22, 2017

Deadline: Jan 16, 2018

Arctic Initiative

Fellows are expected to pursue research that relates to the priorities of the Arctic Initiative: addressing the challenges and opportunities associated with the effects of climate change in the Arctic. A special focus is on exploring to what extent existing governmental and international policies, programs, laws, and regulations are adequate and appropriate to address the evolving challenges and opportunities in the Arctic, and to consider how they can be improved.

In the 2018–2019 academic year, we will emphasize policy-focused proposals on (1) the Arctic Ocean (e.g. related to addressing environmental issues, natural resource management, international collaborations, and indigenous communities); and (2) infrastructure in the far north (e.g. related to connectivity, transportation, shipping, and energy — including the environmental and economic impacts for local communities).

The Arctic Initiative is a joint project of the Environment and Natural Resources Program and the Science, Technology, and Public Policy Program at the Belfer Center and fellows will interact — and collaborate — with fellows from both programs, as well as with faculty, visiting policy makers, and other experts at the Belfer Center and the Harvard Kennedy School.

Application Requirements

  • CV/ Resume
  • Unofficial transcript (pre-doctoral fellow applicants only)
  • Research statement (3–5 pages)
  • Writing sample (less than 50 pages)
    • Should be one published or unpublished piece written by the applicant (co-authored pieces not accepted) in English that will demonstrate his/her English-language writing ability
    • Can be a journal article, book chapter, dissertation chapter, white paper, etc. you have produced in your field
  • Contact information for 3 recommenders submitting letters on your behalf

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Similar Opportunities


International Relations


Political Sciences

Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United States