Study in the UK with a Chevening Scholarships

Publish Date: Jul 10, 2015

About the Programe

Chevening Scholarships are the UK government’s global scholarship programme, funded by the Foreign & Commonwealth Office (FCO) and partner organisations. The programme makes awards to outstanding scholars with leadership potential from around the world to study postgraduate courses at UK universities.

Chevening Scholarships are awarded to outstanding emerging leaders to pursue one-year Master’s degrees in any subject and at any UK university. Our alumni number over 43,000 successful individuals worldwide and in 2015/2016 alone the programme will support more than 1,500 scholars.

Are you a future leader? Do you want to study in the UK? If you would like to enhance your leadership skills and become part of the growing Chevening network, make sure you apply. 

How do I apply?

Applications are usually open between August and November each year and are submitted online exclusively through the Chevening website. They are password protected and accessible throughout the application period.

Separately, you must also apply for university courses starting the following September/October 2016. We recommend that you do this before or at the same time as applying for a Chevening Scholarship.

Eligibility criteria


Please note that the information currently shown on this page is only relevant to 2015/2016 applicants. This will be updated at the end of July 2015 in time for the 2016/2017 application cycle.

To be eligible for a Chevening Award, you must:

  • Be a citizen of a Chevening-eligible country, and intend to return there for a minimum of two years after your Chevening Award has finished.

  • Hold a degree that is equivalent to or higher than an upper-second class (2:1) honours degree in the UK before applying.

  • Have completed at least two years' work experience before applying. This can include voluntary work and paid or unpaid internships.
  • Meet the Chevening English language requirement by 15 July 2015.

  • Apply to three different eligible UK university courses (unless otherwise specified in your award category) and receive at least one unconditional offer for one of the three courses by 15 July 2015. For further information visit ‘what courses should I apply to?’
  • Have at least two referees. Think carefully about whom you wish to select as your two academic/professional referees, as you will be asked to write their details on your application form. You can find more information in the references section of our FAQs.

  • Not hold British citizenship or dual British citizenship, unless you are a citizen of a British Overseas Territory or hold BN(O) and are applying from Hong Kong.

  • Not have previously studied in the UK under a UK government-funded scholarship.

  • Not be an employee, relative of employee, or former employee (since July 2012) of Her Majesty’s Government (including British Embassies/High Commissions, the Department for International Development, the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills, UK Trade and Investment, the Ministry of Defence and the Home Office), the British Council, a partner, a sponsoring UK university, or a staff member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities.
  • Make sure you read the information on your country page and the Chevening Programme terms and conditions. You may also find it helpful to read our Chevening Key Fact Sheet, and the answers to some of our Frequently asked questions.

What are the main stages of selection?

  1. Submit your online application before the deadline.
  2. A panel of experts in the UK assess applications.
  3. Successful applications pass to another review panel at your local British diplomatic mission.
  4. You are informed of the outcome and whether you are invited to an interview.
  5. Interviews take place globally between February and April.

How can I prepare for the application period?


Further Official Information

Link to Original

Similar Opportunities



Study Levels



Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United Kingdom