PhD Studentship, Loughborough University, United Kingdom

Publish Date: Aug 27, 2015

Deadline: Sep 11, 2015

Research Student finance

PhD Studentship – Cones and Positivity

Applications are invited for a PhD studentship funded by the Loughborough University School of Science to start on or after 1 October 2015. The project will be based in the Department of Mathematical Sciences.

The project will explore notions of positivity in algebraic geometry and the invariants derived from them, especially cones of positive cycles on algebraic varieties. This is an exciting topic at the frontier of research in algebraic geometry, with scope for development in a number of directions.  The successful candidate will have a good background in both algebra and geometry. Depending on interest, the project could also incorporate a significant computational aspect.

The studentship is for 3 years and is intended to start on or after 1 October 2015. The studentship provides a stipend of £14,057 per annum plus tuition fees at the UK/EU rate for up to three years. International (non-EU) students may apply but will need to find the difference in fees between those for a ‘UK/EU’ and ‘international’ student themselves.

Candidates will normally need to hold, or expect to gain, at least a 2:1 degree (or equivalent) in Mathematics.  A relevant Master’s degree and/or experience in one or more of the following will be an advantage: Mathematics, with a focus on algebra and/or geometry.

General information about the Department of Mathematical Sciences can be found at:

For informal enquiries about the project, please contact:

Dr. Artie Prendergast-Smith          

To apply, please complete the online application using the following link:

The closing date for applications is 11 September 2015
Interviews will take place week commencing 14 September 2015

Please quote the following reference when applying: 2015Prendergast-Smith

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities



Study Levels


Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United Kingdom