Ondaatje Scholarship for Postgraduate Study 2017, University of Buckingham, UK

Publish Date: Apr 04, 2017

Deadline: May 05, 2017

Ondaatje Scholarship

History of the Scholarship

In 2003 Sir Christopher Ondaatje kindly gave a very generous donation to the University to fund one-year scholarships for Buckingham graduates or for overseas graduates undertaking postgraduate studies at Buckingham, and for Buckingham students attending Massey College, University of Toronto, to undertake postgraduate studies there. Students who obtain a Master’s degree are then eligible to apply to have their PhD studies funded by the University of Toronto.

Scholarship details

We will be offering four scholarships for postgraduate study at Buckingham beginning in September 2017. Each scholarship will be awarded on merit and is open to competition. The scholarships are worth up to £4,000 each towards one year’s postgraduate study.

Application procedure

Anyone interested in applying for the Ondaatje Scholarship should already have the offer of a place at Buckingham for postgraduate study, but cannot apply once they have commenced their Master’s degree. Completed applications should be sent to:

Debbie Millns
Admissions Manager
University of Buckingham
Hunter Street
MK18 1EG
United Kingdom

Applications should include a covering checklist (download here), an up-to-date Curriculum Vitae (CV), an academic reference and a letter stating your proposed programme of study, why you wish to undertake it and why you believe that you should be awarded the scholarship.

Applications opened on Monday 3 April 2017 and will close on Friday 5 May 2017. The final decision regarding the awards will be made by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor. Candidates will be notified of the outcome within two weeks of the closing date.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Similar Opportunities



Study Levels


Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries


Host Countries


United Kingdom