Ed A Hewett Book Prize in Political Economy 2017

Publish Date: Apr 05, 2017

Deadline: Apr 15, 2017


The Ed A Hewett Book Prize, established in 1994 and sponsored by the University of Michigan Center for Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies, is awarded annually for an outstanding monograph on the political economy of Russia, Eurasia and/or Eastern Europe, published in the previous year. The Hewett Prize carries a cash award and is presented at the ASEEES Annual Convention.

Ed Hewett was a distinguished alumnus of the University of Michigan, (PhD, economics), a prominent scholar, a fine colleague, and an internationally respected member of the field. The Hewett Book Prize was established in 1994 in his honor to recognize and encourage the high standard of scholarship that he so admirably advanced in the area of his interests, and was sponsored by the National Council for Eurasian and East European Research from 1994 to 2012.

Rules of eligibility for the Hewett book prize competition are as follows:

    • The copyright date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication (for example, the book must have been published in 2015 to be eligible for the 2016 competition).
    • Only works originally published in English in the form of monographs, chapters in books, or substantial articles preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors, are eligible.
    • Works must be on the political economy of Russia, Eurasia and/or Eastern Europe.
    • Textbooks, translations, bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible.

Fill out and submit the form found on the official website to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for ASEEES prizes.

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below) AND to the ASEEES main office (address in the footnote). Nominations must be received no later than April 15.

Submissions should be clearly marked “Hewett Book Prize Nomination.” If you would like to receive an acknowledgment that your nomination was received please enclose with the copy mailed to the ASEEES main office a note with your e-mail address or a self-addressed stamped envelope or a postcard. Please direct questions to Mary Arnstein (ASEEES Communications Coordinator) at newsnet@pitt.edu

The winner of the Hewett Book Prize will be chosen by the following scholars:

Andrew Barnes, Kent State U, 2015-2017, Committee Chair
(mailing address): 
Andrew Barnes
Dept. of Political Science
302 Bowman Hall
Kent State University
Kent, OH 44242

Dinissa Duvanova, Lehigh U, 2017-2019
(mailing address): 
Dinissa Duvanova, Associate Professor
International Relations
201 Maginnes Hall
9 West Packer Avenue
Lehigh University
Bethlehem, PA 18015

Jessica Pisano, The New School, 2016-2018 
(mailing address): 
Professor Jessica T. Pisano
New School for Social Research
79 5th Avenue, 7th Floor
New York, NY 10003

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Similar Opportunities



Eurasian Studies

European Studies

Political Sciences

Russian Studies

Slavic Studies

Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries