Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung)  Follow

Fraunhofer-Bessel Research Award 2020, Germany

Publish Date: Aug 05, 2019

Deadline: Dec 31, 2019

Scientists and scholars from all non-European countries, who completed their doctorates less than 18 years ago, who are internationally recognised for their achievements in the field of applied research, and who in future are expected to continue producing cutting-edge achievements which will have a seminal influence on their discipline beyond their immediate field of work, are eligible to be nominated for a Fraunhofer-Bessel Research Award.

Award winners are invited to spend a period of up to one year cooperating on a long-term research project with specialist colleagues at one of the Fraunhofer Institutes in Germany. The stay may be divided up into blocks.

The Humboldt Foundation and the Fraunhofer Society for the Advancement of Applied Research jointly grant up to three Fraunhofer-Bessel Research Awards annually.

Nominations may be submitted online by the heads of institutes or senior academics at institutes belonging to the Fraunhofer Society. Nominations may also be initiated by award winners of the Humboldt Foundation working abroad, provided that the nomination is made jointly with a colleague working at a Fraunhofer Institute in Germany. Direct applications are not accepted. The award is valued at €45,000.

Selection procedure

Nominations may be submitted online to the Humboldt Foundation at any time.

The Humboldt Foundation will confirm receipt of the online nomination by email. It is the nominator’s responsibility to ensure that he or she has submitted all the necessary documents.

Subsequently, the nomination documents will usually be forwarded to independent peer reviewers for written review. On the basis of these independent peer reviews a selection committee composed of approximately 22 academics from all disciplines will decide on the submitted nominations.

The competition between nominations is independent of discipline. There are no quotas for countries, research areas or the gender of the nominated individuals. The Committee makes its decision based exclusively on the nominated researchers' academic qualifications.

Selection criteria include:

  • Previous outstanding academic achievements,
  • Individual recognition as especially qualified applied experts in their field who have already shaped their discipline,
  • A well-founded expectation of future outstanding achievements that will have an impact beyond the nominee's immediate research area.

The Selection Meetings take place twice a year – currently at the beginning of spring and in the early autumn of each year.

Nominees will be notified about the Selection Committee's decision immediately after the meeting.

In the event that a nomination is rejected, our colleagues in the Selection Department will provide information on the competitive situation and the selection criteria on request.

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities



Study Levels




Opportunity Types



Financial aid


Eligible Countries


Host Countries