WWF's Russell E. Train Fellowships - Building Capacity in Mozambique 2017

Publish Date: Oct 28, 2016

Deadline: Mar 01, 2017


Mozambique is a country rich in biodiversity and natural resources. Increasing pressures and rapid economic growth make the country ripe for sustainable development. To conserve the habitats and species in places throughout the country, WWF Mozambique strategically focuses on thematic areas such as marine, forestry, wetlands, green economy, conservation funds, good governance, and climate change.

To build local capacity in Mozambique, WWF’s Russell E. Train Education for Nature Program (EFN) is offering fellowships to future conservation leaders to enable them to pursue graduate-level study (master’s and PhD) with the goal of advancing conservation in their home country. Applicants may apply for up to two years of funding and request up to $30,000 per year.

Focus Areas

The following are eligible fields of study for the Mozambique fellowship.

  • Marine and fisheries management (MPA planning and management, terrestrial to marine connectivity, rights-based fishery management)
  • Freshwater conservation (identification of fish species and freshwater ecology, integrated watershed management, hydrology, or freshwater management, environmental flows to sustain freshwater and estuarine ecosystems)
  • Species conservation (marine turtles, elephants, rhinos)
  • Rapid ecological assessments of marine and terrestrial topics
  • Social science as related to sustainable economic development
  • Community-based natural resource management of forests, reefs, estuaries, and other coastal or freshwater areas
  • Climate change adaptation, particularly for marine and coastal habitats and communities
  • Policy, law and/or economics

Eligibility Criteria

  • You must be a citizen and legal permanent resident of Mozambique
  • You must have at least two years of conservation-related work or research experience.
  • You must have a demonstrated commitment to working in conservation in Mozambique.
  • Your research or academic program must address one of the focus areas listed.
  • You must be enrolled in, admitted to, or have applied to a master’s or PhD program anywhere in the world.
  • You must plan to begin your studies no later than January 2018.
  • You must commit to working for at least two years in your home country after the completion of your degree.
  • You must not have received a Train Fellowship or Scholarship in the past.
  • You must contact EFN if you are a WWF employee, consultant, or previous EFN grant recipient.
  • You must submit all required documents by the application deadline.

 Selection Process

Train Fellows are selected through a competitive, merit-based process. An independent, interdisciplinary panel of experts is convened in each country to review applications and to identify the top candidates based on the following criteria:

  • Professional qualifications as evidenced by previous and current conservation-related positions, references from colleagues in the field, publications, and other sources
  • Demonstrated leadership through involvement in community and volunteer activities, the workplace, local and national government, and other areas
  • Prior academic achievement as shown by grades, academic awards, and references from professors
  • Motivation and commitment to contribute to conservation in a participating country and to share what is learned with others in their field and in their home communities
  • Potential impact of proposed study/research on conservation efforts in the home country or region


You may access the application for all Train Fellowship competitions via original web page. The deadline to apply is March 1, 2017 by 11:59pm EST.

New users will be required to create a new account in the application system. New user instructions can be found in the original web page.

For more information please click on "Further official information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Similar Opportunities





Marine Science


Sustainable Development

Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries