University of Sussex  Follow

Morris and Bessie Emanuel PhD scholarship in Modern Jewish History and Culture 2019, UK

Publish Date: Jul 29, 2019

Deadline: Oct 01, 2019

The Morris and Bessie Emanuel PhD scholarship in Modern Jewish History and Culture (2019)

The Weidenfeld Institute/Centre for German-Jewish Studies are pleased to offer funding for a three-year ‘Morris and Bessie Emanuel’ PhD. This is for an outstanding doctoral candidate wishing to pursue a research project in the field of Jewish studies. Highly motivated current and prospective graduates with an outstanding academic record and a strong interest in the relevant topics are encouraged to apply. The successful PhD candidate will be joining a vibrant PhD community at the Institute and the School of History, Art History and Philosophy.

Type of award

Postgraduate Research



The three-year studentship covers UK/EU or international tuition fees and provides a stipend which matches that provided for UK doctoral researchers by the UK Research Council (currently £14,777).



Applicants should apply to study a PhD in the School of History, Art History and Philosophy with a start date of February 2020.  Applicants must meet the University’s entry requirements, which are listed with each PhD degree.


1 October 2019 0:00 (GMT)

How to apply

Applicants must apply directly to Sussex using our online postgraduate application system.  

In the Funding section of the online form, please state that you wish to be considered for the "Morris and Bessie Emanuel PhD Scholarship".

With your application, please include:

  • research proposal
  • undergraduate and Masters degree certificate and transcripts
  • two academic references (one of the references must be from your most recent university)
  • statement of purpose (500 words)
  • CV

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities


Arabic Studies


Jewish Studies

Middle Eastern Studies

Religious Studies

Social Sciences

Study Levels


Opportunity Types


Financial aid


Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United Kingdom