Newcastle University, UK  Follow

The Basil Bunting Poetry International Award 2017

Publish Date: Dec 19, 2016

Deadline: Apr 07, 2017

Do you write poetry in English? 

The Basil Bunting Award poetry competition is open internationally to any poet writing in English. Each poem should be no longer than 40 lines.

The Judge

Entries will be judged by Ahren Warner. Ahren Warner’s first collection, Confer (Bloodaxe Books, 2011), was a Poetry Book Society Recommendation and was shortlisted for both the Forward Prize for Best First Collection and the Michael Murphy Memorial Prize 2013. He was awarded an Eric Gregory Award in 2010 and an Arts Foundation Fellowship in 2012. His second collection, Pretty (Bloodaxe Books, 2013), was another Poetry Book Society Recommendation. His third collection, Hello. Your promise has been extracted, is due from Bloodaxe in October 2017. He is Poetry Editor of Poetry London and currently lives in London and Paris.

Entries can be made via the Newcastle University WebStore (please, click Further Official information below the announcement to learn more) or by posting hard copies to:
Newcastle Centre for the Literary Arts,
Percy Building,
Newcastle University,
Newcastle Upon Tyne,

Payment should be made online or by enclosing a cheque made payable to "University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne" with your entries. See the rules below for further details.


Each poem submitted must be no more than 40 lines long. The title is not included in the line count, nor are any blank spaces to indicate stanza or section breaks. All entries are judged anonymously: do not include your name on the document.

Entries can be on any subject and written in any style or form. Entrants may enter up to ten poems, subject to payment of the appropriate entry fee. Entrants may withdraw entries from the competition, but entry fees will not be refunded.

The deadline for entries is 12:00 Midnight (BST) at the end of Friday 7th April 2017. Any entries arriving after this time will not be considered.


The Prize is open to all writers internationally. Entries must be entirely the work of the entrant and by submitting you are confirming that all work is your own.

Poems must be previously unpublished. Poems must not be currently entered for judgement in any other poetry competitions, nor have won or been placed (as in 2nd, 3rd, runner-up, etc.) in any other competiton. Entries submitted posthumously or on behalf of another person will not be eligible.


The fee for entering one poem is £7; for entering two poems is £10; the fee then increases by £5 per poem up to ten poems (£50), which is the maximum allowed number of entries per poet. The appropriate entry fee to be paid via the NCLA webstore or cheque.

Entry format

Entries must be written in English. Poems to be single-spaced and a line count noted at the top of each poem, or at the beginning of the document.

Entries must show no name, address or identifying marks other than the title. For postal entries, please include your name and contact details (ideally including an email address) on a separate covering letter. Online entries should be a separate file for each poem entered, to be submitted online once the entry fee is paid. The file type of online entries must be either a .doc, .docx, .rft, .pdf or .txt file.

Under no circumstances can alterations be made to poems once entered.


Worldwide copyright of each entry remains with the author, but NCLA may seek persmission to publish winning and shortlisted entries online.

Judging & results

Prizewinners will be invited to an award ceremony at Newcastle Poetry Festival on 12th May 2017. Shortlisted poets will be posted on the NCLA website by 28th April 2017. The judge's decision is final and no individual correspondence can be entered into.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities

Opportunity Types



Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United Kingdom

Event Types