Reginald Zelnik Book Prize in History 2017

Publish Date: Apr 05, 2017

Deadline: Apr 15, 2017


The Reginald Zelnik Book Prize in History, established in 2009 and sponsored by the Institute of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies at the University of California, Berkeley, is awarded annually for an outstanding monograph published on Russia, Eastern Europe or Eurasia in the field of history in the previous calendar year. The Reginald Zelnik Book Prize in History carries a cash award. The award is presented in November at the ASEEES Annual Convention.

Rules of eligibility for the Reginald Zelnik Book Prize in History competition are as follows:

    • The copyright date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication (for example, the book must have been published in 2015 to be eligible for the 2016 competition)
    • The book must be originally in the form of a monograph, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors
    • Authors may be of any nationality as long as the work is originally published in English
    • Works may deal with any area of Russia, Eastern Europe, or Eurasia
    • The competition is open to works of scholarship in history
    • Textbooks, collections, translations, bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible


Fill out and submit the form on the official website to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for ASEEES prizes. Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below) AND to the ASEEES main office (address in the footnote). Nominations must be received no later than April 15.

Submissions should be clearly marked “Reginald Zelnik Book Prize Nomination.” If you would like to receive an acknowledgment that your nomination was received please enclose with the copy mailed to the ASEEES main office a note with your e-mail address or a self-addressed stamped envelope or a postcard. Please direct questions to Mary Arnstein (ASEEES Communications Coordinator) at

The winner of the Reginald Zelnik Book Prize in History will be chosen by the following scholars:

Glennys Young, U of Washington, 2015-2017; Committee Chair
(mailing address):
Glennys Young
Box 353650
Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195 

Norman Naimark, Stanford U, 2016-2018 
(mailing address): 
Norman Naimark 
930 Lathrop Place
Stanford, CA 94305

Christine Ruane, U of Tulsa, 2017-2019
(mailing address):
Prof. Christine Ruane
5508 E. 104th Street
Tulsa, OK 74137

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities


Art History


Eurasian Studies

European Studies


Russian Studies

Slavic Studies

Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries