University of Oxford  Follow

Oxford Pershing Square Graduate Scholarship, University of Oxford, UK

Publish Date: Nov 12, 2015

Deadline: Jan 08, 2016

Oxford Pershing Square Graduate Scholarship

Every year, the Pershing Square Foundation awards up to five scholarships to support outstanding students on the 1+1 MBA. Pershing Square Scholars are exceptional individuals who can demonstrate the potential and commitment to finding scalable and sustainable solutions to world-scale social challenges. The scholarship is available to students pursuing any of the partnering Master’s degrees in combination with the MBA.

Established in 2014, the Oxford Pershing Square Scholarship provides funding for tuition, college fees and a contribution towards living expenses for the MBA year of the 1+1 MBA. Pershing Square Scholars also benefit from opportunities for mentorship and networking with inspirational individuals and organisations that are part of the Pershing Square Foundation’s community. Scholars become integrated into Saïd Business School’s community as soon as they begin their Master’s degree by attending receptions and meetings with our Dean, faculty and other MBA scholars. They can access and ultilise both their department and Oxford Saïd’s resources and networks throughout both years of their study. Pershing Square Scholars are also invited every spring to take a ‘trek’ to New York City hosted by the Pershing Square Foundation, during which they participate in meetings and workshops with leading innovators and change makers.

Pershing Square Scholarships are awarded to individuals with the following attributes

• Academic achievement
• Leadership potential, demonstrated through experience and motivation
• Strong personal character, integrity and commitment
• Intention to focus on addressing world-scale social challenges in your career, either in an existing organisation or through development of a new enterprise
• Ability to envision how to achieve scalable and sustainable solutions to these challenges
• Articulated vision on how the Oxford 1+1 MBA will allow you to fulfil your objectives

These attributes should be highlighted in your MBA application, scholarship essay, and interview answers.

How to apply for the Pershing Square Scholarship

If you would like to be considered for the Oxford Pershing Square Graduate Scholarship you must apply to the 1+1 MBA by the 18th March 2016; unless you are already pursuing a partnering Master’s degree at Oxford University, in which case you need to apply by the 8th January 2016. Please note that some partnering Master’s close their applications in January 2016. 

In addition to the Master’s and MBA applications, you must submit an essay of no more than 500 words addressing the following question:

'How do you intend to change the world? What does this tell us about you as a person?’

Shortlisted candidates will be invited to an interview with the selection panel.

Enquiries about the Pershing Square Scholarship should be directed to

Further information about the 1+1 MBA application process is available here.

About the Pershing Square Foundation

The Pershing Square Foundation supports exceptional leaders and innovative organisations that tackle social issues and deliver scalable and sustainable impact. The Foundation is committed to supporting areas such as economic development, education, healthcare, justice and the arts.

The Pershing Square Foundation’s gift of £4.5m will endow the scholarships in perpetuity. The University of Oxford has provided a further £3m under the Oxford Graduate Scholarship Matched Fund, taking the total funding to £7.5m. The Oxford Pershing Square Scholarship provides funding for tuition, college fees and at least £14,057 toward living expenses for the MBA year of the 1+1 MBA. The first five Oxford Pershing Square Scholars joined the 1+1 MBA in September 2014. The 2015-17 Pershing Square Scholars will be announced in autumn 2015.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities


Business Administration

Study Levels


Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United Kingdom