Kulczycki Book Prize in Polish Studies 2017

Publish Date: Apr 05, 2017

Deadline: Apr 15, 2017


The Kulczycki Book Prize in Polish Studies (formerly the ASEEES Orbis Book Prize), established in 1996 and sponsored by the Kulczycki family, former owners of the Orbis Books Ltd. of London, England, is awarded annually for the best book in any discipline, on any aspect of Polish affairs, published in the previous calendar year. The Kulczycki Book Prize carries a cash award. The award is presented at the ASEEES Annual Convention.

Rules of eligibility for the Kulczycki Book Prize in Polish Studies competition are as follows:

    • The copyright date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication (for example, the book must have been published in 2015 to be eligible for the 2016 competition).
    • Only works originally published in English, outside of Poland, are eligible
    • The book must be a monograph predominantly on Polish studies, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors.
    • Strong preference will be given to works by first-time authors.
    • The competition is open to works in any discipline, dealing with any aspect of Polish affairs.
    • Textbooks, translations, bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible.
    • Previous winners of the Kulczycki/Orbis Prize are ineligible.

Fill out and submit the form found on the official website to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for ASEEES prizes.

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below) AND to the ASEEES main office (address in the footnote). Nominations must be received no later than April 15.

Submissions should be clearly marked “ASEEES Kulczycki Book Prize Nomination.” If you would like to receive an acknowledgment that your nomination was received please enclose with the copy mailed to the ASEEES main office a note with your e-mail address or a self-addressed stamped envelope or a postcard. Please direct questions to Mary Arnstein (ASEEES Communications Coordinator) at newsnet@pitt.edu

The winner of the Kulczycki Books Prize in Polish Studies will be chosen by the following scholars:

Nathan Wood, U of Kansas, 2015-2017; Committee Chair  
(mailing address):
Nathan Wood
Department of History
University of Kansas
1445 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045 

Jessie Labov, Central European U (Hungary), 2017-2019
(mailing address): 
Jessie Labov
204 N. 35th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
(electronic submission): 
If possible, electronic submissions would be preferred. Pease send a PDF of the submission to LabovJ@ceu.edu.

Joanna Nizynska, Indiana U Bloomington, 2016-2018
(mailing address):
Joanna Nizynska 
2261 S. Sweetbriar Ct. 
Bloomington, IN 47401

*The committee members are selected in consultation with the Polish Studies Association.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Similar Opportunities




Political Sciences

Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries