Governmental Scholarships for Liberian Students 2017-2018, Liberia


June 02, 2017

Opportunity Cover Image - Governmental Scholarships for Liberian Students 2017-2018, Liberia

Call for Scholarship Applications

The Ministry of Education is pleased to call for applications for the Government of Liberia’s local scholarship program. Applications for the 2017/2018 academic year can be submitted from May 8, 2017. The program will prioritize the following disciplines for 2017/2018:

  • Education
  • The sciences, including biology, chemistry, physics, and mathematics
  • Medicine, nursing, and midwifery
  • Engineering, including construction, civil, electrical, and mechanical engineering;
  • Geology and mining;
  • Information technology; and
  • Agriculture

Scholarships are awarded on the basis of merit, and applicants must have a grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 or above. For students graduating from high school, who do not receive a GPA, a total average mark of 80% is required.

The Government of Liberia is committed to ensuring that educational opportunities are equally available to students from all communities across the country. Therefore, application forms can be picked up, and applications submitted, at County Education Offices. Applications close at 4 p.m. on June 2, 2017.

Students currently holding a local scholarship for the 2015/2016 academic year who are continuing their course of study do not need to re-apply if they have maintained a GPA of 3.0. It is a requirement that scholarship-holders maintain a GPA of 3.0, and therefore scholarships will not be renewed for students who have not achieved the necessary marks.

Female students and students with disabilities are strongly encouraged to apply. Application forms and further information are available at the County Education Office in each county.

Inquiries can also be directed to the Division of Scholarships at the Ministry of Education on cell numbers: 0886-547-655 and 0886-522-990.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

Eligible Countries
Host Country
Publish Date
May 03, 2017
Link To Original