Beckman Institute Postdoctoral Fellowship Program 2020, USA

Publish Date: Oct 28, 2019

Deadline: Nov 25, 2019


Three postdoctoral fellows programs support outstanding scientists at the Beckman Institute: the Beckman Institute Postdoctoral Fellows Program, the Beckman-Brown Interdisciplinary Postdoctoral Fellows Program, and the Carle Foundation Hospital-Beckman Institute Postdoctoral Fellows Program. These programs offer a wonderful opportunity for scholars selected from a highly competitive pool of applicants to engage in a three-year fellowship of interdisciplinary research at the Beckman Institute.

The Beckman Institute Postdoctoral Fellows Program was initiated in the fall of 1991 with funding from the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation to recruit outstanding scientists to work at the Beckman Institute. Four to six Beckman Institute Postdoctoral Fellows are selected annually.

The Carle Foundation Hospital-Beckman Institute Postdoctoral Fellows Program was begun in 2008 with funding from Carle Foundation Hospital to recruit outstanding scientists to work on translational biomedical research. One or two Carle Foundation Hospital-Beckman Institute Postdoctoral Fellows are selected approximately every three years.

The Beckman-Brown Interdisciplinary Postdoctoral Fellows Program was initiated in the fall of 2015, when the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation provided an endowment in honor of Dr. and Mrs. Arnold Beckman and the founding director of the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology, Dr. Theodore “Ted” Brown. One Beckman-Brown Interdisciplinary Fellow is selected annually.

For all programs, Fellows are selected in accordance with the core values of the Beckman Institute:

  • Excellence:
    The applicant demonstrates high-quality prior research experience, such as a strong publication record in top journals, and provides a high-quality research plan that is well-reasoned, logical, and coherent.
  • Collaboration:
    The proposed research plan brings together Illinois faculty members.
  • Integrity:
    The proposed research plan adheres to the highest standards of responsible conduct of research.
  • Transdisciplinarity:
    The applicant demonstrates the ability to work on research that transcends traditional disciplinary boundaries.
  • Exploration:
    The application demonstrates innovation, both in the prior research experiences of the applicant, and in the nature of the proposed research plan.
  • Diversity:
    The Beckman Institute explicitly seeks to increase diversity in its program. In addition to fostering geographic, disciplinary and interdisciplinarity diversity, underrepresented minorities in science, technology, and engineering, are especially encouraged to apply.


Eligibility Requirements

  • Ph.D. degree or equivalent within the last 10 years.
  • Relevance of the proposed research plan to the portfolio of the Beckman Institute.
  • Application package includes four letters of reference:
    • Two letters regarding the applicant’s prior work experience
    • Two letters from the proposed Beckman Institute faculty mentors/collaborators, with at least one being a full-time or part-time member of the Beckman Institute faculty
      • Letters from proposed Beckman Institute faculty mentors/collaborators should explain how the faculty member intends to support the applicant’s research plan.

Program Summary

  • Fellows receive an annual stipend of $54,000, reimbursement for health insurance, and a $25,000 research budget that can be spent on research activities such as research supplies, equipment, and conference and workshop travel.
  • Fellows are appointed annually for up to three years.
  • Fellows are expected to engage both in research and in activities with broader impact.
  • Fellows are expected to write annual reports and to check in monthly with the Beckman Institute Director.

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities




Study Levels


Opportunity Types


Financial aid


Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United States