Financial Times Live & International Finance Corporation Transformational Business Awards 2019, UK

Publish Date: Feb 04, 2019

Deadline: Mar 15, 2019

FT/IFC Transformational Business Awards 2019


The FT/IFC Transformational Business Awards, the leading global programme that highlights innovative, long-term private-sector solutions to major development challenges, returns for a sixth year with a special category focused on harnessing technology for people with disabilities.


The Transformational Business Awards are open to all financial and non-financial private sector organisations, as well as NGOs that can meet the judging criteria. The focus is on specific projects and transactions and the impact those initiatives have or promise to have on the problems they are targeting.

While the focus of all categories is on transformational impact in developing economies, the awards are also open to projects that address similar market deficiencies in the developed world and that could be replicated in severely under-supplied regions.

The aim is to recognise, showcase and reward private sector innovation, impact, replicability, financial viability and sustainability across a number of key areas identified in the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The SDGs are designed to achieve by 2030 the eradication of poverty in all its forms, as well as protect the planet from degradation, and generally ensure that all human beings can enjoy prosperous and fulfilling lives.

Special attention will be given to initiatives that address climate change, and/or harness disruptive technologies and business models to achieve impact. Entries that focus on projects in fragile and conflict-affected states and the world’s poorest countries are encouraged.

Projects or transactions must have passed the implementation stage, and should result in measurable impact. They must be financially viable now or potentially within five years of implementation. Only initiatives that have been implemented since 2013 will be eligible. Start-ups with innovative solutions and a clear roadmap to financial sustainability are encouraged to apply.

The following core award categories for 2019 are now open for entries:

  • Transformational Solutions in Urban Infrastructure
  • Transformational Solutions in Food, Water and Land
  • Transformational Solutions in Health, Wellness and Disease Prevention
  • Transformational Solutions in Education, Knowledge and Skills
  • Special Award: Innovating for Disability

The winners of the following Overall Awards will be selected by our esteemed judging panel from those short-listed for the above core categories:

  • Overall Award: Excellence in Disruptive Technologies
  • Overall Award: Excellence in Climate Solutions
  • Overall Award: Excellence in Transformational Finance
  • Overall Award: Excellence in Transformational Business

The winner in each category will be announced at a special dinner in London on 13 June 2019. The dinner will be preceded by the FT/IFC Transformational Business Conference, a major gathering of thought leaders who will explore and debate the issues generated by the Awards.


The programme is open to all financial and non-financial private sector organisations. Start-ups with innovative solutions and a clear roadmap to financial sustainability are encouraged to apply.

Productive sector companies, investment institutions, and advisory firms involved in projects addressing key challenges in urbanisation, technology and sustainability with respect to developing economies, including:

  • Infrastructure developers
  • Energy companies
  • Engineering companies
  • Technology companies
  • Healthcare providers
  • Pharmaceutical companies
  • Design houses
  • Pension funds
  • Sovereign wealth funds
  • Life insurance companies
  • Private equity firms
  • Investment banks
  • Fund managers
  • Consultancies

Terms & Conditions

These terms and conditions set out instructions for how to take part in the FT/IFC Transformational Business Awards (the “Awards”). By entering the Awards, entrants agree to these terms and conditions and acknowledge that failure to comply with them may result in disqualification. No purchase is necessary to enter.

The Financial Times (FT) and the International Finance Corporation (IFC), a member of the World Bank Group, have launched the sixth edition of the FT/IFC Transformational Business Awards.

The 2019 Awards include a new, special category on harnessing technology for people with disabilities, supported by the UK Department for International Development (DFID). The new category was announced by World Bank CEO Kristalina Georgieva at the Global Disability Summit organised by DFID in July 2018.

The important role of cities in driving progress in sustainable development is highlighted in a revamped category focused on Urban Infrastructure.

The core categories are now all directly related to global efforts to achieve the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Within this overall focus, special attention will continue to be given to initiatives that address climate change and harness disruptive technologies and business models to increase impact and scale. Innovative financing solutions will also be highlighted, along with the role of institutional investors and other large holders of capital in supporting the SDGs.

The Awards are open to any private sector organisations. Start-ups with innovative solutions and a clear roadmap to financial sustainability are encouraged to apply. The 2018 Awards attracted 189 entries from 278 organisations involving projects in more than 126 countries.

The deadline for entries is 15 March 2019 at 5pm GMT.

The Financial Times and IFC have worked together for more than a decade on global awards initiatives that have had a significant impact on the way financial and non-financial institutions approach sustainable investment. These initiatives began in 2006 with the FT/IFC Sustainable Banking Awards, which evolved into the Sustainable Finance Awards in 2011 and the Transformational Business Awards in 2014.

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities



Development Studies



Environmental Studies


Food Science


Innovative Technologies


Water Science

Opportunity Types



Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United Kingdom