Doctoral Scholarships 2018, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium


July 15, 2018

Opportunity Cover Image - Doctoral Scholarships 2018, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

PhD Scholarships in nuclear safety and radiation protection. 



The call for the VUB AVN Fund PhD scholarship aims to support a doctoral researcher, under the supervision of a promotor of one of the VUB faculties and for the duration of four years (with an evaluation after 2 years), to conduct a doctoral research within the area of nuclear safety and radiation protection.

The doctoral research will be in preparation of a doctoral thesis.


• Period: 4 years, with an evaluation after 2 years

• Grant amount: Personnel cost PhD Student + 10% working fee

• The call will open at 13 June 2018 - Deadline: 15 July 2018 at 16:00h - Announcement of results: 31 July 2018 - Start of PhD scholarship: 1 October 2018

Profile and conditions

• The promotor has at least a 10% ZAP-mandate in one of the VUB faculties.

• The PhD student obtained a master degree from one of the countries of the EU, the EER or Switzerland.

• The PhD student obtained this degree with at least “distinction” (cum laude).

• The promotor and PhD student agree on providing the steering committee of the Fund with a yearly scientific and financial report and mentioning the VUB AVN Fund in all scientific publications or communication related to the doctoral research.

• The promotor and PhD student agree to act in line with all applicable VUB regulations.

Submissions and selection procedure

• The promotor solely or the promotor and PhD candidate together submit(s) a research proposal of maximum 5 pages, mentioning at least the following items: title of the project, an acronym, situating the research, research objectives, the research strategy and a work plan including work packages, deliverables and milestones. Work packages shall comprise defined tasks.

• The application must be submitted by e-mail:

• The application is screened on eligibility (completeness and admission criteria)

• The selection is based on 2 admission criteria: project and application potential

• The steering committee of the Fund decides on the approval of the research project and renewal of the PhD scholarship.

The steering committee consists of the following members:

- Mr. Jean Vereecken, Chairman AVN and Chairman VUB AVN Fund

- Mr. Frank Deconinck, Board of Directors AVN

- Prof. Dr. Stefaan Caenepeel, in his capacity of Dean of the Faculty Engineering

- Prof. Dr. Eric Jespers, in his capacity of Dean of the Faculty Science and Bio-engineering Sciences

- Prof. Dr. Ir. Hugo Thienpont, in his capacity of Vice-Rector Innovation and Industrial Policy


For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

Host Country
Study Levels
Publish Date
June 19, 2018
Link To Original