UNESCO/ISEDC Co-Sponsored Fellowships Programme 2015, Moscow, Russian Federation

Publish Date: Apr 08, 2015

Deadline: May 22, 2015

Applications are invited for UNESCO/ISEDC Co-Sponsored Fellowships Programme available in specialized institutions in the Russian Federation. Up to twenty training fellowships will be awarded for a period of four weeks from 5 to 30 October 2015. UNESCO will solicit applications from the developing countries and countries in transition. The application deadline is 22 May 2015.
Study Subject(s): The candidates may choose to study in the following fields of study: Energy and sustainable development; Ecological management of energy resources; Renewable energy and Sustainable and renewable energy power generation.
Course Level: This is a four weeks fellowship programme.
Scholarship Provider: UNESCO Programme and International Center for Sustainable Energy Development (ISEDC) in Moscow (Russian Federation).
Scholarship can be taken at: The training activities in the framework of these fellowships are tenable in specialized institutions in the Russian Federation.

Candidates must meet the following criteria: 

-Holder of at least a BSc degree or BA in Economics;
-Proficient in the Russian language;
-Not more than 35 years of age.
Scholarship Open for International Students: Applicants from following countries: Africa: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Ivory Coast, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Swaziland, Togo, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe; Arab States: Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Yemen; Asia and the Pacific: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Federal States of Micronesia, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor – Leste, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam; Latin America and Caribbean: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia (plurinacional State of), Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela; Europe: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Montenegro, Republic of Moldova, Republic of Serbia, Romania, Slovak Republic, The former Yugolsav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, and Ukraine and Associate member state: Tokelau can apply for these training fellowships.
Scholarship Description: 
The aim of this fellowships programme is to enhance the capacity-building and human resources development in the area of sustainable and renewable energy sources in developing countries and countries in transition. The training activities in the framework of these fellowships are tenable in specialized institutions in the Russian Federation. The medium of instruction will be English. UNESCO will solicit applications from the developing countries and countries in transition. In line with the strategy and objectives of the approved UNESCO Programme and Budget for the Fellowships Programme Section, the UNESCO Category II International Center for Sustainable Energy Development (ISEDC) in Moscow (Russian Federation) is offering twenty (20) fellowships of four weeks (4)  duration each in 2015.
Number of award(s): Twenty (20) fellowships will be awarded in 2015.
Duration of award(s): The duration of each fellowship is four weeks from 5 to 30 October 2015.
What does it cover? 

Facilities offered by ISEDC:

 -Beneficiaries will be exempt of paying tuition fees for the entire duration of studies/training;

-Fellows will undertake studies/training under the supervision of an advisor or study director that will be provided by the host institution;

-The donor Government will pay stipends to beneficiaries on a monthly basis, in local currency. The stipend amounting to eight hundred (800) US dollars is intended to cover living expenses such as accommodation, meals, pocket expenses, and incidentals. The donor will determine the amount of the stipend to be granted to beneficiaries;
-ISEDC will assist in obtaining modest housing for the fellows.


Facilities offered by UNESCO:
-UNESCO will cover the cost of the round-trip international travel at the most economical rate and the most direct flights.
-UNESCO will pay a one-time travel allowance amounting to US$100 (one hundred US dollars) prior to the fellows’ departure for the Russian Federation.
-Health insurance. To avail of this entitlement, beneficiaries should be declared medically fit by the UNESCO Medical Service that examines the complete medical dossiers.

Selection Criteria: Not Known

Notification: The final selection of beneficiaries lies with ISEDC. The National Commission of selected fellows will be duly informed by UNESCO and the letter of award will immediately follow. UNESCO will authorize the departure of beneficiaries who have completely complied with the requirements stipulated in the letter of award. Candidates not informed of their selection by 1st September 2015 should consider that their applications have not been approved. 

How to Apply: All applications should be endorsed by the National Commission for UNESCO and must be duly completed in English or French with the following attachments in duplicate:
-The prescribed UNESCO fellowship application form;
-Six photographs;
-Certified photocopies of Diplomas;
-Certificate of English Language proficiency;
-Subsequently, for those who have been selected, the UNESCO medical examination form duly completed by a recognized physician (not more than four months before the actual date of studies). The prescribed form of which will be sent along with the letter of award. Expenses incurred in the constitution of the medical dossiers will not be reimbursed.
Each invited Member State is requested to nominate not more than two (2) candidates.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Similar Opportunities



Energy-efficient technologies

Sustainable Development

Opportunity Types


Host Countries