The European Capital of Innovation Award – iCapital

Publish Date: Sep 02, 2015

Deadline: Nov 18, 2015

The European Capital of Innovation Award – iCapital

The 2016 contest is on!

After the success of the first edition of the European Capital of Innovation Award in 2014, the European Commission has launched a second, even more ambitious, edition to celebrate the European city which is building the best “innovation ecosystem”- connecting citizens, public organizations, academia, and business - with a view to helping the city scale up its efforts in this field.

Applicant cities will be judged by an independent panel of experts on how on-going and future initiatives create the right environment to innovate. Three prizes will be awarded:

  • The European Capital of Innovation 2016:
€950 000
  • 2nd ranked city:
€100 000
  • 3rd ranked city:
€50 000

Contestants will be able to submit their entries until 18 November 2015 (17:00 – Brussels time).

Cities will be judged on the basis of initiatives they have already taken since 1 January 2012, as well as their ideas to enhance innovative capacity in the future. The three winners will be announced in early 2016.

Read the press release - Commission seeks the next European Capital of Innovation (09/07/2015)
Watch the speech of Commissioner Moedas on the importance on cities and the European Capital of Innovation Award

Who can apply?

The contest is open to cities:

  • which have over 100 000 inhabitants (in countries where there is no city with more than 100 000 inhabitants, the largest city is eligible to apply)
  • from EU Member States and countries associated to Horizon 2020, the European research and innovation programme.

Read the contest rules (PDF icon 247 KB)

How to apply

You can apply in 6 easy steps via our web-based submission system.
Read the Application guide (PDF icon 232 KB) for more details.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities

Eligible Countries


Event Types