The Distinguished Lorentz Fellowship, in Netherlands, 2016

Publish Date: Feb 10, 2016

Deadline: Oct 15, 2016

What is a Distinguished Lorentz Fellowship?

The Distinguished Lorentz Fellowship (DLF) is awarded to a leading scientist to work on cutting-edge research at the interface between the Humanities and/or Social Sciences on one hand and the Natural Sciences and/or Technological Sciences on the other. It consists of:
·          A residential fellowship at NIAS of 5 to 10 months including on-campus study and accommodation,
·          Replacement funds for each month spent at NIAS up to a maximum of €3,800,
·          A workshop at the Lorentz Center on the fellowship topic  with full organizational support (budget  €20,000),
·          A personal prize of €10,000.
Distinguished Lorentz Fellows are nominated by prominent figures from within the (Dutch) academic community. The Fellowship is awarded annually at the discretion of the NIAS-Lorentz Center Advisory Board, chaired by Professor Sijbolt Noorda.

How can I apply?

You must be nominated by a leading figure from one of the following Dutch academic communities: Rectors and deans of Dutch universities, members of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW), chairs of the Young Academy (DJA) and the Dutch Network of Women Professors (LNVH), directors of KNAW, NWO and TNO institutes and directors of museums or industrial organizations with a research agenda.

More information about how to nominate DLF.
For information about suitability please contact Professor Paul Emmelkamp or Professor Arjen Doelman.

When is the next Call for DLF Nominations?

The next Call for nominations for the DLF 2017/18 will open August 2016. The deadline for submission of nominations is 15 October 2016.
DLF: How to nominate

The deadline for nominations for the DLF 2016/17 is 15 October 2015. The call opens 30 August 2015.
More information about the procedure can be found in the call for nomination letter below. 
What does a nomination consist of? 
  • The nomination letter
  • Title and brief description of the intended DLF research project (max. 1 page) that bridges the divides between scientific disciplines from the Humanities and/or Social Sciences and the Natural Sciences and/or Technological Sciences. The description should be explicit on how the research project will encourage research at the cutting edge of these different scientific areas and describe the possible societal impact as well as plans for one or more publications.
  • Outline of the Lorentz Center workshop (guidelines found here) related to the above topic (max. 2 pages).
  • Curriculum Vitae of the nominee (max. 3 pages).
  • Short list of the nominee’s most important publications (max. 10 publications).




Nominations will be evaluated by the NIAS-Lorentz Advisory Board. Nominees and nominators will be informed within six weeks of the deadline. All nominations will be treated with the utmost confidentiality. 

Successful nominees

The DLF winner will be invited to NIAS to discuss further plans with the Rector of NIAS and the Director of the Lorentz Center. The DLF will be asked to submit a full NIAS-Lorentz workshop proposal at a later date.

Current and previous Distinguished Lorentz Fellows

The first DLF was presented to Jan van Leeuwen (2009), second to Richard Gill (2010), the third to Johan Rooryck(2011), the fourth to Henk Barendregt (2012), the fifth to Henkjan Honing (2013), the sixth to Cars Hommes (2014) and in 2015 the seventh is awarded to Patricia Osseweijer.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities



Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries


Host Countries