Harvard University  Follow

Postdoctoral Associateship Program 2017 - Advanced Historical Research in Islamic Art and Architecture, Harvard University, USA

Publish Date: Jan 26, 2017

Deadline: Mar 01, 2017

About the fellowship

The Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture is pleased to invite applications for self-supported Associateships to conduct advanced historical research in Islamic art, architecture, and archaeology at Harvard University. AKPIA Associateships are intended principally for overseas scholars--preferably, but not exclusively, from Muslim countries--to support research in art and architectural history and archaeology. Our program is not intended to sponsor professional design, conservation, or urban development projects, nor are they intended to support research travel. The recipient is expected to be in residence for a minimum of three months (except for a few short research-related trips). Please note--these are unpaid Associate positions. 

We welcome applications from senior scholars and from recent graduates. Research projects should preferably be publishable in the annual publication of the Aga Khan Program, Muqarnas: An Annual on the Visual Cultures of the Islamic World. Potentially publishable, original projects will be given preference.

AKPIA Associates have an affiliation with Harvard University's Department of History of Art and Architecture (HAA). They are free to pursue their own research without any obligations other than presenting a public lecture on their research project--as part of the AKPIA lecture series, A Forum for Islamic Art and Architecture--and submitting an article based on the research at Harvard for consideration by the editor for publication in Muqarnas. AKPIA Associates have access to all Harvard University libraries, museums, and facilities; they are also welcome to audit Harvard seminars, if they so choose.

Applicants must have a doctoral degree (PhD, DPhil, or equivalent). A solid command of written and spoken English is required (the AKPIA lecture will be delivered in English). Associates must remain in Cambridge for the duration of the appointment.

Application materials must be submitted in hard copy, or via email in a single message; the Committee will not consider incomplete applications or applications submitted after the deadline:March 1, 2017. 

The following materials are required of applicants

  • Completed, signed application form (2 copies)
  • Curriculum vitae (2 copies)
  • Research proposal (2 copies)
  • Two different writing samples of previous research publications (2 copies each)

* Letters of recommendation from two professors or scholars familiar with the applicant's research (1 copy each)
* Original transcripts--when possible--in sealed enveloped from institutions where graduate work was conducted (1 per institution) Copies of original transcripts will be considered 

* Letters of recommendation and transcripts may be mailed directly to the Program from the institutions or recommenders (preferred), may be sent by a professional dossier and credentials service (such as Interfolio), or may be included with the other application materials in their original, sealed envelopes. Letter writers may also email their letters directly to agakhan@fas.harvard.edu. All other materials should be submitted together in a single envelope/package or via a single email message. 

Materials should be mailed to:
Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture
Harvard University
Attn: AKPIA Associate Program
485 Broadway, Sackler 412
Cambridge, MA 02138 USA

Alternately, materials may be emailed in a single email message to: agakhan@fas.harvard.edu

All application materials must be received by March 1, 2017. Results will be announced by mid-May.

Please direct any inquires about the AKPIA Associateships at Harvard University to agakhan@fas.harvard or 617-495-2355.

For more information click "Further offiical information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Similar Opportunities





Islamic Studies

Study Levels


Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United States