Organization of American Historians Lerner-Scott Prize 2018

Publish Date: Jul 07, 2017

Deadline: Oct 02, 2017

Lerner-Scott Prize


The Lerner-Scott Prize is given annually by the Organization of American Historians for the best doctoral dissertation in U.S. women’s history. The prize is named for Gerda Lerner and Anne Firor Scott, both pioneers in women’s history and past presidents of the OAH.

A dissertation must be completed during the period July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2017 to be eligible for the 2018 Lerner-Scott Prize.

The prize will be presented at the 2018 OAH Annual Meeting in Sacramento, California, April 12–14.

Application Procedures

Please send an electronic attachment (PDF) of your complete dissertation to the committee chair listed below by midnight (PST), October 2, 2017 with "2018 OAH Lerner-Scott Prize Entry" in the subject line. The committee chair must receive all applications by October 2, 2017.

Each application must also include a letter of support from a faculty member at the degree-granting institution, along with an abstract and table of contents. Faculty members should e-mail their letters separately to the committee chair, with "Recommendation for [applicant's name]" in the subject line. Please provide e-mail addresses for both the applicant and the adviser, if available.

Please also provide a cover letter describing the contribution of the dissertation to the field of U.S. women's history and any funding or project or travel grants that supported the completion of the dissertation.

The final decision will be made by the Lerner-Scott Prize Committee by February 2018. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation.

Lerner-Scott Prize Committee

Bonnie Laughlin-Schultz, Eastern Illinois University (Committee Chair)
Daina Ramey Berry, University of Texas at Austin
Lynn M. Hudson, University of Illinois at Chicago

Submission Policy

It is the policy of the OAH to honor those applicants who submit their applications on or before the stated deadline date. Applications that are not postmarked by close of business on the deadline date will not be considered. Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after the postmark deadline for each book award and before January 1 of the following year. Electronic files will not be accepted. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the entry must be sent to each committee member and postmarked no later than January 8 of the year in which the award or prize is given. Bound page proofs not followed with a bound copy of the book will not be considered. If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct time frame, making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities


Gender Studies



Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries