Organization of American Historians John D'Emilio LGBTQ History Dissertation Award 2017

Publish Date: Jul 07, 2017

Deadline: Oct 02, 2017

John D'Emilio LGBTQ History Dissertation Award

The OAH announces the establishment of the John D'Emilio LGBTQ History Dissertation Award, given annually to the best PhD dissertation in U.S. LGBTQ history. The award is named for John D'Emilio, pioneer in LGBTQ history.

A dissertation must be completed during the period July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2017 to be eligible for the 2018 D'Emilio Award.

The award will be presented at the 2018 OAH Annual Meeting in Sacramento, California, April 12–14.


Please send an electronic attachment (PDF) of your complete dissertation in one e-mail to all three committee members listed below by midnight (PST) on October 2, 2017, and include in the subject line "2018 John D'Emilio LGBTQ History Dissertation Award." The committee members must receive all applications by this date.

Each application must also include a letter of support from a faculty member at the degree-granting institution, along with an abstract and table of contents.

The final decision will be made by the award committee by February 2018. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation.

Committee Members:

Pippa Holloway (Committee Chair)
Affiliation: Middle Tennessee State University

Julio Capó, Jr.
Affiliation: University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Kevin Mumford
Affiliation: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Submission Policy

It is the policy of the OAH to honor those applicants who submit their applications on or before the stated deadline date. Applications that are not postmarked by close of business on the deadline date will not be considered. Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after the postmark deadline for each book award and before January 1 of the following year. Electronic files will not be accepted. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the entry must be sent to each committee member and postmarked no later than January 8 of the year in which the award or prize is given. Bound page proofs not followed with a bound copy of the book will not be considered. If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct time frame, making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities



Heritage Studies


Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries