Organization of American Historians Huggins-Quarles Award 2018

Publish Date: Jul 07, 2017

Deadline: Dec 01, 2017

Huggins-Quarles Award

Named for Benjamin Quarles and Nathan Huggins, two outstanding historians of the African American past, the Huggins-Quarles Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to one or two graduate students of color to assist them with expenses related to travel to research collections for the completion of the PhD dissertation. These awards were established to promote greater diversity in the historical profession. 

Requirements of Applicants 
• applicant must be ABD 
• applicant must be ALANA (African American, Latino/a, Asian American, Native American) scholar 
• applicant's dissertation must focus on U.S. history 
• U.S. residency is not required 

Application Procedures 

To apply, the student should submit the following items in one PDF document and in the following order:

• cover letter, which should also indicate the candidate's progress on the dissertation, including ABD status 
• CV 
• abstract: a five-page dissertation proposal (double spaced), which should include a definition of the project, an explanation of the project's significance and contribution to the field, and a description of the most important primary sources 
• a one-page itemized budget explaining travel and research plans 
The deadline for submissions is December 1, 2017.

Each application must include a letter from the dissertation adviser attesting to the student's status and the ways in which the Huggins-Quarles Award will facilitate the completion of the dissertation project. Advisers should e-mail their letters separately to the committee chair. The committee considers only candidates who are ABD or who will be ABD at the time of the award and whose focus is on U.S. history.

One complete copy of each application (including cover letter, CV, abstract, and budget), clearly labeled "2018 Huggins-Quarles Award Entry," must be e-mailed (PDF) directly to the committee chair listed below. The chair must receive all applications and letters from advisers by midnight (PST) on December 1, 2017. The final decision will be made by the Huggins-Quarles Award Committee by February 2018. The award will be presented at the 2018 Annual Meeting in Sacramento, California, April 12–14. All recipients are expected to attend and present their work at the 2019 OAH Annual Meeting.

Send applications to: 

Jerry Gonzalez, University of Texas at San Antonio (Committee Chair)

Huggins-Quarles Award Committee 

Jerry Gonzalez, University of Texas at San Antonio (Committee Chair)
Arica L. Coleman, Independent Scholar 
Lauren Araiza, Denison University
Mary Ting Li Lui, Yale University
David Torres-Rouff, University of California, Merced

Submission Policy

It is the policy of the OAH to honor those applicants who submit their applications on or before the stated deadline date. Applications that are not postmarked by close of business on the deadline date will not be considered. Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after the postmark deadline for each book award and before January 1 of the following year. Electronic files will not be accepted. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the entry must be sent to each committee member and postmarked no later than January 8 of the year in which the award or prize is given. Bound page proofs not followed with a bound copy of the book will not be considered. If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct time frame, making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities





Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries