Maryland Historical Society Lord Baltimore Research Fellowship 2017, USA

Publish Date: Mar 23, 2017

Deadline: Apr 15, 2017

Lord Baltimore Research  Fellowship

The Maryland Historical Society invites applications for its Lord Baltimore Research Fellowship program. The society offers fellowships each year designed to promote scholarship in Maryland history and culture through research in its library collections. Applications will be welcomed from independent scholars, graduate students, or university faculty in any discipline appropriate to the society’s collections.

Between six and twelve fellowships will be awarded. Fellows will be provided access to computers with Internet connections, expanded access to the library, and a free parking permit. These fellowships are non-stipendiary.

The terms of a fellowship may be from one week to one year during the period from June 1, 2017, to May 31, 2018. Fellows are expected to be in residence at the society during their fellowship term, make use of the society’s collections in their research, and participate in the intellectual life of the society. Fellows are required to present their research-in-progress in informal presentations at the society, write a post on their research for the library’s blog, and to submit an annotated bibliography to the library director at the conclusion of their term of residency. Fellows are encouraged to submit their finished work for possible publication in the Maryland Historical Magazine.

Applications must be postmarked by April 15, 2017. To apply, send a cover letter, a c.v. or resume, a two-four page summary of the planned research, how it fits into an overall research project, and the names and complete addresses of two references to: 


Patricia Dockman Anderson, Ph.D.

Maryland Historical Society

201 West Monument Street

Baltimore, MD 21201

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities




Study Levels


Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United States