Mahoney Priz for Outstanding Article in the History of Computing and Information Technology 2016

Publish Date: Feb 02, 2016

Deadline: Mar 01, 2016

The Mahoney Prize recognizes an outstanding article in the history of computing and information technology, broadly conceived. The Mahoney Prize commemorates the late Princeton scholar Michael S. Mahoney, whose profound contributions to the history of computing came from his many articles and book chapters. The prize consists of a $500 award and a certificate. For the 2016 prize, articles published in the preceding three years (2013, 2014, and 2015) are eligible for nomination. The Mahoney Prize is awarded by the Special Interest Group in Computers, Information, and Society (SIGCIS) and is presented during the annual meeting of our parent group, the Society for the History of Technology.

The deadline for submission (electronic submissions required) is March 1, 2016. All submissions and questions should be directed to the 2016 Mahoney Prize Committee Chair, Dr. James Cortada (

2016 Mahoney Prize Committee:

Jennifer S. Light (term ends 2016)
Professor of Science, Technology, and Society
Professor of Urban Studies and Planning
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Ave., E51-173
Cambridge, MA 02139

James Cortada, Chair (term ends 2017)
Charles Babbage Institute
University of Minnesota
2917 Irvington Way
Madison, WI 53713

Jeffrey R. Yost (term ends 2018)
Charles Babbage Institute
University of Minnesota
211 Andersen Library
222 21st Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Previous winners:

2015: David Nofre, Mark Priestley, and Gerard Alberts, "When Technology Became Language: The Origins of the Linguistic Conception of Compter Programming, 1950-1960," Technology and Culture 55 (January 2014): 40-75.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities


Computer Sciences

Information Technology


Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries