John Carter Brown Library Short-Term Fellowships, USA

Publish Date: Oct 26, 2015

Deadline: Dec 01, 2015

The John Carter Brown Library will award approximately forty residential research fellowships for the year July 1, 2016–June 30, 2017. Sponsorship of research at the John Carter Brown Library is reserved exclusively for scholars whose work is centered on the colonial history of the Americas, North and South, including all aspects of the European, African, and Native American engagement.

Fellowships are of two types:

Short-Term Fellowships

Short-term John Carter Brown Library Fellowships are available for periods of two to four months and carry a stipend of $2,100 per month. These fellowships are open to citizens of the United States and foreign nationals who are engaged in pre- or post-doctoral, or independent, research. Graduate students must have passed their preliminary or general examinations at the time of application.

The stipends of many of the fellows each year are paid out of restricted funds generously donated to the Library for this purpose:

  • The Paul W. McQuillen Memorial Fellowship, the Alice E. Adams Fellowship, the Charles H. Watts Memorial Fellowship, the Barbara S. Mosbacher Fellowship, the Helen Watson Buckner Memorial Fellowship, the Norman Fiering Fund, and the Library Associates Fellowship are open to scholars in any area of research related to the Library’s holdings.

  • The Jeannette D. Black Memorial Fellowship is for research in the history of cartography or a closely related area.

  • The William Reese Company Fellowship is for research in bibliography and the history of printing.

  • The Ruth and Lincoln Ekstrom Fellowship is for research on the history of women and the family in the Americas prior to 1825, including the question of cultural influences on gender formation.

  • The Alexander O. Vietor Memorial Fellowship is for research in early maritime history.

  • The Marie L. and William R. Hartland Fellowship funds research related to eighteenth-century maritime social history.
  • Center for New World Comparative Studies Fellowships are available for scholars engaged in research in the comparative history of the colonial Americas.

  • Maria Elena Cassiet Fellowships are restricted to scholars who are permanent residents of countries in Spanish America.

  • The Maury A. Bromsen Fellowship is focused on colonial Spanish American history.

  • The Touro National Heritage Trust Fellowship is for research on some aspect of the Jewish experience in the New World before 1825.

  • The J. R. Bockstoce Fund supports research in Pacific Ocean Studies, including Russian America.

The foregoing list is intended to suggest areas of research on colonial America that may benefit from the use of JCB materials. Applicants should not, however, apply for a grant in a specific fellowship category. All short-term applications are reviewed as a group without reference to these categories.

Application procedure may be seen here.

The deadline for submission of application materials is December 1, 2015Interdisciplinary Cluster Fellowship applications are due on January 15, 2016. All materials must be emailed or postmarked no later than these respective dates. Announcements of fellowship awards will be made in late March 2015.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities

Study Levels


Opportunity Types


Financial aid


Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United States