Harvard University  Follow

Global American Studies Postdoctoral Fellowship Program 2019-2020, Harvard University, USA

Publish Date: Oct 14, 2019

Deadline: Nov 15, 2019

Global American Studies Program

GLOBAL AMERICAN STUDIES POSTDOCTORAL FELLOWSHIP.  Initiated in 2013 with the generous support of then Social Sciences Dean Peter Marsden, this program is focused on the history of the United States in the world, and the world in the United States.  The postdoctoral fellowship is for two years, and two fellows are annually invited.  Thus, there are four Global American Studies Postdoctoral Fellows in residence each year. Each cohort includes scholars from a variety of disciplinary backgrounds who bring a historical perspective to topics such as empire, migration, race, indigeneity, and ethnicity, and whose work investigates and/or interprets the history and experience in the United States of native peoples, or peoples of African, Asian, or Hispanic descent.

Unlike the Centers’ faculty fellowship, which does not carry health insurance, the Global American Studies postodoctoral fellowship is benefited. 

Along with access to Harvard’s library and other resources, the fellowship includes the requirement to teach one course per year, to participate in a fellowship program conference each spring, and an organized faculty mentorship component. Residency at the Warren Center for the term of the appointment is therefore required.

Notes regarding application materials.
The required statement of research should be no longer than five pages, single-spaced.
The required writing sample should be a dissertation chapter.
OPTIONAL WRITING SAMPLE 2: another dissertation chapter.
Three letters of reference are required. Instructions will follow as you complete the electronic application.

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Similar Opportunities


Art History


Heritage Studies



Social Sciences

Study Levels


Opportunity Types


Financial aid


Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United States