European Studies First Book Award

Publish Date: Jun 18, 2015

Deadline: Jul 01, 2015

The CES Book Award honors the work of talented new scholars and is given for the best first book on any subject in European Studies published within a two-year period.

A multi-disciplinary Book Award Committee appointed by the Council’s Executive Committee will choose the winner and a formal presentation of the award will be conducted at the Council’s 23rd International Conference of Europeanists (Philadelphia, PA, April 14-16, 2016). The winning author will receive $1,000 and travel assistance to attend the conference and award ceremony. Both the winner and top two finalists will be recognized in Council publications and on our website.

Mellon-CES Dissertation Completion Fellowship Application                


For the 2016 Book Award competition, each nominated title must meet the following criteria:
  • must be the first book written by the nominee in the field of European Studies;
  • must be published between October 1, 2013 and September 30, 2015;
  • must not be a reprint or re-edition of a previously published book;
  • must be the work of one author only;
  • the author must be a member of the Council for European Studies or must hold a full-time faculty appointment at an institution that is a member. 
Nominations may be submitted by the publisher, author or an admiring colleague, and must be accompanied by seven (7) copies of the nominated title separately mailed to the Council for European Studies and the six members of its Book Award Committee:
Rima Wilkes, Chair
University of Bristish Columbia

Sébastien Chauvin
University of Amsterdam

Lisa Conant
University of Denver

Hazel Gold
Emory University

Pauli Kettunen
University of Helsinki

Daniel Mügge
University of Amsterdam


The submission period opens on July 1, 2015, and ends on September 30, 2015.


The application period for the next Book Award competition will open on July 1, 2015.
To apply, please click on the button above and fill in the linked form before the deadline. Please mail seven copies of the nominated book separately to CES and the Book Award Committee members, whose addresses will be provided by CES.

For more information, please contact CES at:

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities


European Studies

Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries