Duke University  Follow

Phillip Jackson Baugh Fellowship 2020 for Ph.D. Students in Anthropology, Economics, Psychology, and Sociology, USA

Publish Date: Nov 11, 2019

Deadline: Nov 30, 2019

Phillip Jackson Baugh Fellowship for Ph.D. Students in Anthropology, Economics, Psychology, and Sociology

The Graduate School offers one competitive fellowship through the generosity of the Phillip Jackson Baugh Endowment. This one-year fellowship is for the promotion of careers and interest in the areas of aging and human development. The Baugh Fellowship provides an annual stipend (equivalent to the Graduate School-recommended Arts and Sciences nine-month stipend established each year), as well as tuition and mandatory fees. In addition, The Graduate School will pay the health insurance premium for recipients who enroll in the Duke Student Medical Insurance Plan.


  • Applicants must be in good academic standing.
  • Applicants must have completed the preliminary exam by the end of the spring semester before the period covered by the award.
  • No other award (whether fellowship or service-related) may be held concurrently with this fellowship without special permission from the dean of The Graduate School.

To Apply


  • Approval from your department (see step 1 below)
  • Your CV (PDF)
  • A copy of your current Duke transcript or DukeHub report (PDF)
  • Two letters of recommendation from your DGS and faculty advisor. If your DGS and faculty advisor are the same individual only one letter of recommendation is required.
  • A brief statement of research and interests (in PDF format) that explains the need to be free of service obligations. This should be no more than 3 pages, using 1-inch margins, 1.5 line spacing, and Arial 12-point font. OPTIONAL: You may also include an additional 1-page bibliography.

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Similar Opportunities





Social Sciences


Study Levels


Opportunity Types


Financial aid


Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United States