AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards 2021

Publish Date: May 09, 2021

Deadline: Aug 01, 2021

Entries for the 2021 Awards Will be Accepted Starting April 30

The contest year is from July 16, 2020 to July 15, 2021. The entry deadline is August 1, 2021.We changed some of the categories last year. Be sure to read the Categories, Submission Procedures, Contest Rules, and Frequently Asked Questions, before starting your entry.

We have been recognizing excellence in science journalism since 1945 and celebrated our diamond anniversary last year. Thanks to a doubling of our endowment by The Kavli Foundation in 2015, we accept entries from journalists worldwide in all categories.

If you have questions about an existing entry, please contact us at

Do explore our website to learn about the prize-winning work of our award recipients and the history of the awards program, which encourages better public understanding of science and its impact through rigorous, informed reporting and writing. The media landscape may change, but our commitment to outstanding science writing remains the same.

Contest Rules

The contest year is 16 July 2020 through 15 July 2021. All entries must be submitted online on or before midnight, U.S. Pacific time, on 1 August 2021. Entries must have been originally published, broadcast or posted online during the contest year. There is no entry fee.

The awards are open to reporters doing work for independent news organizations around the world. Articles must be readily accessible to the public by subscription, newsstand sales or online access. If the submitted work was published or broadcast in a language other than English, you must provide an English translation. See online FAQ for further discussion.

You cannot enter the same story or stories in two different categories, nor may you enter a story both as an individual entry and as part of a group of stories.

At their discretion, judges and AAAS staff may move entries between categories.

Entry limit: Entrants may submit up to THREE entries in all (across one or more categories).

The following are not eligible for the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards:

  • Items published originally in AAAS publications or produced by AAAS.

  • Items by employees of AAAS (including those on the masthead of Science magazine) or The Kavli Foundation. 

Winners of the 2020 awards are not eligible. Individuals who have won three times are no longer eligible.

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

Further Official Information

Link to Original

Similar Opportunities


Communication Studies



Social Media

Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries