Online Journalism Awards 2020, USA

Publish Date: May 09, 2020

Deadline: Jun 04, 2020

Online Journalism Awards

The Online Journalism Awards (OJAs), launched in May 2000, are the only comprehensive set of journalism prizes honoring excellence in digital journalism around the world.

The 2020 Online Journalism Awards open on May 5. Submissions close on Thursday, June 4, 2020 at 11:59 p.m. EST. Finalists and winners will be recognized during an awards ceremony on October 3 to close the ONA20 conference. Tickets to the ceremony will be available along with ONA20 registration.

May 5, 2020 – Submissions Open
June 4, 2020 – Submission Deadline
August 2020 – OJA Finalists Announced
September 30 – October 3, 2020 – Online News Association Conference
October 3, 2020 – OJA Awards Ceremony (Winners announced)

The OJAs recognize major media, international and independent sites and individuals producing innovative work in digital storytelling. The OJA Committee and judges place special emphasis on entries that demonstrate mastery of the special characteristics and emerging technology of digital journalism.

Five of the awards come with $31,000 in prize money, courtesy of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, the University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication’s Agora Journalism Center, and the University of Florida. These awards honor data journalism, investigative journalism, public service, student journalism and community engagement.

The finalists and winners are selected through a two-step process. First, industry-leading journalists and digital media professionals screen the awards to determine semi-finalists. In August, a panel of judges convene to select winners.

We will celebrate winners on the final night of ONA20, the Online News Association Conference and Awards Ceremony, September 30–October 3, at the Hyatt Regency in Atlanta, Georgia.

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities




Social Media


Study Levels



Opportunity Types




Eligible Countries


Host Countries

United States