Telefilm Canada New Voices Award 2020, Canada


March 20, 2020

Opportunity Cover Image - Telefilm Canada New Voices Award 2020, Canada

Telefilm Canada New Voices Award

The TELEFILM CANADA New Voices Award are awarded to five emerging screenwriters from across Canada. The award provides each winner with a complimentary registration to the ninth annual Toronto Screenwriting Conference (TSC) (April 25-26, 2020) plus an exclusive lunch with TSC Founder, Glenn Cockburn, and an executive from TELEFILM Canada.

  • Be a Canadian citizen, Permanent Resident, or Landed Immigrant
  • Must have ownership of creative rights, and be able to demonstrate proof of original concept
  • Must be available to attend the exclusive luncheon (April 24), and Toronto Screenwriting Conference (April 25/26), in Toronto (please note we are unable to cover the costs of travel)
  • Must have written at least two (2) projects: digital series episode, TV episode, short film, feature film, or a play of which one (1) has been produced
  • Must submit one (1) feature length screenplay or TV series pilot as part of your complete application
  • Must not have previously been awarded the TELEFILM Canada New Voices Award

Applicants are asked to include the following information in the form of a complete package. Please note that incomplete packages will NOT be reviewed by the jury.

Please provide the following enclosures in your application:

  • Completed Application Form (Including Signature), with declaration of ownership
  • A letter of intent and interest outlining how you will use the opportunity to further your goals (maximum of 1 page)
  • A curriculum vitae that includes screen credits, relevant education and training; please also include a short bio (maximum 300 words), in addition to your CV
  • A two-page synopsis that describes your script submission. Include story, characters, genre, format and target audience (maximum of 2 pages)
  • Writing Sample: One (1) original script for a TV-series, or feature film

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Eligible Countries
Host Country
Study Levels
Publish Date
February 29, 2020