One World Media Competition 2020

Publish Date: Jan 20, 2020

Deadline: Feb 13, 2020

Celebrating underreported stories that break down stereotypes, change the narrative and connect people from different cultures

Established in 1988, the One World Media Awards recognise the best media coverage of developing countries, reflecting the social, political and cultural life of people around the globe.

Key dates:

  • Open for entries: Tuesday 7 January, 2020
  • Entry deadline: Thursday 13 February, 2020
  • Awards ceremony: Thursday 18 June, 2020

What are the One World Media Awards?

  • The Awards recognise the best media coverage of developing countries, celebrating those whose work brings to light underreported stories
  • The Awards are open to journalists and filmmakers from all over the world
  • With 15 categories, the Awards highlight work from all media platforms and across a wide range of genres and themes
  • The focus is on stories, topics or issues in, about or related to developing countries


Why enter the Awards?

  • A unique opportunity to be recognised by some of the industry’s top professionals and to gain a wider audience for your work
  • The only Awards recognising excellence in international journalism and filmmaking specifically from and about developing countries
  • They are established, with 31 years of providing a platform for important stories to be shared and celebrated
  • They are diverse and open to entries from anywhere in the world

What are the benefits?

  • £1000 production grant
  • Executive producer for your project
  • One-to-one career mentorship
  • Fair Reporting and Security Guidance
  • Industry workshops + webinars
  • Network of like-minded Fellowship alumni

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities


Communication Studies



Social Media

Opportunity Types




Eligible Countries


Event Types