Jack Henning Graduate Fellowship in Labor Culture & History 2019, USA

Publish Date: Sep 09, 2019

Deadline: Dec 01, 2019

This fellowship has been established to honor the life and work of Jack Henning, San Francisco labor leader, statesman, and tireless champion of all working people. 

Established in 2007, the Jack Henning Graduate Fellowship in Labor Culture & History began awarding annual grants in 2009 to California graduate students.

A fundraising event during 2007 was attended by many of our friends, including Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, members of the San Francisco Building and Construction Trades Council Unions, and San Francisco Labor Council Affiliates, and our supporters from the Northern California community.

To encourage innovative study of the expressive culture of working people in the United States, as well as their identities, philosophies, and the problems they encounter.

Graduate students (Master’s and Ph.D. candidates) enrolled in an accredited California university undertaking research related to laborlore, labor history, occupational folklife, trade union traditions, and/or workers’ expressive culture, all broadly defined.

Applicants may be from any relevant discipline, including but not limited to Anthropology, Art, Communication Studies, Cultural Studies, English, Ethnic Studies, Folklore, Geography, History, Labor Studies, Literature, Sociology, Urban Studies, and Women’s Studies.

We are especially interested in supporting graduate students who are exploring important, innovative topics related to the lives of working people that may fall outside of the parameters of traditional academic research and funding.

A stipend of $5,000 will be provided for the academic year 2020-2021. The award recipient will be expected to submit a progress report at the end of the field research and a final report when the thesis/dissertation is completed.

For more information click "LINK TO ORIGINAL" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Similar Opportunities




Study Levels


Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries

United States

Host Countries

United States