Mary Jaharis Center for Byzantine Art and Culture Dissertation Grants 2018

Publish Date: Dec 04, 2017

Deadline: Feb 01, 2018

Dissertation Grants

Mary Jaharis Center Dissertation Grants are awarded to advanced graduate students working on Ph.D. dissertations in the field of Byzantine studies broadly conceived. These grants are meant to help defray the costs of research-related expenses, e.g., travel, photography/digital images, microfilm.

Funding: Up to four grants of $3000 will be awarded in each grant cycle


All graduate students whose primary research focuses on an aspect of Byzantine studies are eligible. Applicants must have an approved dissertation project by the application date.


Applications will be evaluated using the following criteria:

  • Significance: The extent to which the proposed dissertation research will make an original and important contribution to the field of inquiry it addresses.
  • Approach: The extent to which the conceptual framework and methodology are clearly presented and appropriate for the proposed research.
  • Need: The extent to which the funding will make a significant contribution toward the completion of the dissertation.


  • Funds must be used between 1 July 2018 and 30 June 2019.
  • Names of recipients and their projects will be published on the MJC website.
  • Recipients will submit by 1 September 2019 a brief report (400–500 words) outlining the work accomplished during the grant period and explaining how the grant money was used.
  • Recipients will submit by 1 September 2019 a précis (200–250 words) of her/his report highlighting the work accomplished during the grant period. The précis will be posted on the MJC website.
  • In any publications resulting from the grant, the recipient will acknowledge the Mary Jaharis Center for Byzantine Art and Culture.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities



Heritage Studies





Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries