UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2017

Publish Date: May 24, 2017

Deadline: May 31, 2017

Theme of 2017: Literacy in a Digital World

Since 1967, UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have rewarded excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. Over 475 projects and programmes undertaken by governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals around the world have been recognized. Through these prestigious Prizes, UNESCO seeks to support effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies.

Currently there are two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes:

  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2 awards)

Established in 1989, with the support of the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to the development and use of mother-tongue literacy education and training.

  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards)

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy, established in 2005, with the support of the Government of the People’s Republic of China. It gives special consideration to literacy amongst adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth, particularly girls and women.

Each of the five prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US$20.000.

The UNESCO International Literacy Prizes are awarded in an official ceremony on the occasion of the International Literacy Day (8 September).

Every year, the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes (ILP) reward excellence and innovation in the field of literacy around the world to promote effective and innovative practices and encourage dynamic literate societies.

Who can apply?

  • Individuals, institutions and organizations promoting literacy.
  • Specific programmes/projects with a proven record of innovative work in the field of literacy for at least three years.
  • Programmes/projects that have not been awarded the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes in the past five years.

How to apply?

  • Request your user account through the official website. You will then be able to proceed to the online application form.
  • Fill in and submit the electronic application form in English or French to UNESCO’s Secretariat via the concerned Member States through the National Commission for UNESCO by 31 May 2017 (midnight, Paris time). If applying through an International NonGovernmental Organization (NGO), which maintains official relations with UNESCO, please provide project information and request a nomination letter directly from the NGO, to be attached to the electronic application form by 14 June 2017.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:


Similar Opportunities





Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries