The Roland H. Bainton Book Prizes 2017

Publish Date: Mar 21, 2017

Deadline: Apr 01, 2017

About This Award

The Roland H. Bainton Book Prizes are named in honor of one of the most irenic church historians of the twentieth century. Roland H. Bainton was professor of church history at the seminary of Yale University for many years, the advisor of many Ph.D. students, the author of over a dozen important books, and an ardent supporter of early modern studies.

Four prizes are awarded yearly for the best books written in English dealing with three categories within the time frame of 1450-1660: Art and Music History, History/Theology, Literature, and Reference Works. The prize-winning book in each category is chosen by a committee of three SCSC members appointed by the president of the SCSC who shall also designate one of the three to serve as chair.

Criteria for selection shall include:

  1. quality and originality of research
  2. methodological skill and/or innovation
  3. development of fresh and stimulating interpretations or insights
  4. literary quality

Nominations for the prize may be made by anyone. Either the publisher or the author shall send three case-bound copies of the book to the Executive Director of the SCSC who in turn will send books to each member of the various prize committees. The books to be considered for the prize will be those books published within the preceding calendar year. Anthologies and collections of essays will not be accepted, except in the reference category. The deadline for submission of a book is be 1 April of each year. Announcement of the awards will be made by the chair of each committee at the annual business meeting of the SCSC. An announcement of the awards will also be published in The Sixteenth Century Journal and Perspectives on History of the American Historical Association. In each category, the award will include a certificate to be sent to the publisher and the author plus $500.00 to be sent to the author.

SCSC Administrator

Donald J. Harreld, Ph.D.
2103 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602

Previous Winners



  • History/Theology: Robin Barnes, Astrology and Reformation (Oxford University Press, 2015)
  • Literature: Christopher Warren, Literature and the Law of Nations, 1580-1680 (Oxford University Press, 2015) 
  • Art History: Katelijne Schiltz, Music and Riddle Culture in the Renaissance (Cambridge University Press, 2015)
  • Reference: Kevin Killeen, Helen Smith, Rachel Willie, The Oxford Handbook of the Bible in Early Modern England, c. 1530-1700. (Oxford University Press, 2015)


  • History/Theology: Regina Harrison, Sin & Confession in Colonial Peru: Spanish-Quechua penitential Texts, 1560-1650 (University of Texas Press, 2014)
  • Literature: Michael Murrin, Trade and Romance (University of Chicago Press, 2014) 
  • Art History: Elizabeth Goldring, Robert Dudley, Earl of Leicester, and the World of Elizabethan Art (Yale University Press, 2014)
  • Reference: Elizabeth Goldring, Faith Eales, Elizabeth Clarke, and Jayne Elisabeth Archer, John Nichols's The Progresses and Public Processions of Queen Elizabeth: a New Edition of the Early Modern Sources (Oxford University Press, 2014)


  • History/Theology: Sandra Cavallo and Tessa Storey, Healthy Living in Late Renaissance Italy (Oxford University Press, 2013)
  • Literature: Carmen Nocentelli, Empires of Love: Europe, Asia and the Making of Early Modern Identity (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2013) 
  • Art History: Sarah Blake McHam, Pliny and the Artistic Culture of the Italian Renaissance: the Legacy of the Natural History (Yale University Press, 2013)
  • Reference: Tom Cain and Ruth Connolly, The Complete Poetry of Robert Herrick (Oxford University Press, 2013)

For more information click "Further official information" below.


This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities




Opportunity Types



Eligible Countries


Event Types