Robert Motherwell Book Award 2018

Publish Date: May 25, 2017

Deadline: Dec 15, 2017

The Robert Motherwell Book Award

The Robert Motherwell Book Award is given annually and carries a prize of $10,000 awarded to the author of an outstanding publication in the history and criticism of modernism in the arts – including the visual arts, literature, music and the performing arts. Nominations are normally made by publishers, and the winner is chosen by a panel of distinguished scholars and writers.

Nomination Criteria

Eligibility for the 2018 award is limited to books about modern art and/or the history and criticism of modernism in the arts that were first published in 2017, in English. (Our definition of modernism is broad and we will consider books that deal with art created between the nineteenth century and the present.) Typically, an eligible book will have been written by a single author; but volumes with co-authors are eligible if the tenor of the books is that of a coherent work with a recognizably unified voice. Anthologies are therefore not eligible.

Nomination Timeline & Procedure

Publishers may nominate any books on their 2017 list that they believe merit the jury’s consideration. Nominations may be sent starting November 1 and will be accepted until December 15. Deadlines that fall on a weekend or holiday will be extended to the next business day. Nominations should include the book’s title, author and a 50 word précis.

Publishers of books that the jury wishes to further consider will be contacted in February 2018, and asked to ship review copies directly to each of the three members of the jury.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities




Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries