University of Sheffield Logo

University of Sheffield

The University of Sheffield (informally Sheffield University) is a public research university in Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England. It received its royal charter in 1905 as successor to the University College of Sheffield, which was established in 1897 by the merger of Sheffield Medical School (founded in 1828), Firth College (1879) and Sheffield Technical School (1884).

Sheffield is a multi-campus university predominantly over two campus areas: the Western Bank and the St George's. The university is organised into five academic faculties composed of multiple departments. It had 19,555 undergraduate and 8,370 postgraduate students in 2015/16 and its total and research income came to £635.7 million and £168.5 million in 2015/16 respectively, which made Sheffield among the top 10 of the UK universities in terms of Net assets.




+44 114 222 2000


Western Bank, Sheffield S10 2TN, UK