Nominations for the Holberg Prize 2018

Publish Date: May 31, 2017

Deadline: Jun 15, 2017

Nominations for the Holberg Prize 2018

The Holberg Prize is awarded for outstanding scholarly work in the academic fields of the arts and humanities, social sciences, law and theology. The deadline for nominations for the 2018 Holberg Prize is 15 June 2017.

The Holberg Prize was established by the Norwegian Parliament in 2003 and is awarded annually to a scholar who have made outstanding contributions to research in the arts and humanities, social science, law or theology. The prize may be awarded both for work within a particular academic discipline and for work of a cross disciplinary nature. The prize winner must have had a decisive influence on international research.

The Prize money value is NOK 4,5 million (approximately 495,000 EUR / USD 524 000*).The Holberg Prize Board awards the Prize at the recommendation of the Holberg Committee. The function of the nomination is to make the Committee aware of the candidate’s work. The Holberg Prize Laureate will be announced in March and the award ceremony takes place in Bergen, Norway, in early June.

Scholars holding positions at universities and other research institutions, including academies, are entitled to nominate candidates to the Holberg Prize. The nomination letter should be written in English and provide a statement of maximum 1 page justifying why the candidate should recieve the Holberg Prize. The nomination should also include the candidate’s CV and suggest at least three referees who know the scholar´s work.

For more information please click "Further Official Information" below.

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Similar Opportunities




Social Sciences

Opportunity Types


Eligible Countries