Next Generation Award

Society for Neuroscience


June 03, 2015


Opportunity Cover Image - Next Generation Award
The Next Generation Award recognizes SfN chapter members who have made outstanding contributions to public communication, outreach, and education about neuroscience.

One award is given at the predoctoral/postdoctoral level and one at the junior faculty level.

Recipients receive a $750 travel award to help defray the cost of attending SfN’s annual meeting and a $300 honorarium. The recipient's chapter receives a $2,000 chapter grant to be used to continue the chapter's outreach efforts in the following year. The SfN president presents the awards at a lecture at the SfN annual meeting. When awarded to a group at the pre/postdoctoral level, each individual receives a $300 honorarium and the chapter should either appoint one person to receive the $750 travel award or determine how to split it among the members.

Submit all materials using SfN's award nomination site. Include the following:

Nominations for the 2015 award are due by Wednesday, June 3.


  • Must demonstrate outstanding contributions to outreach and science education activities for SfN or its local chapters.
  • Readiness to take leadership roles designing and/or executing chapter outreach efforts the following year is required (must be documented in Annual Chapter Report).
  • Nomination must be by an active chapter that has submitted an annual Chapter Report within the past year. See chapter guidelines for information about chapter requirements.
  • Current predoctoral/postdoctoral students only. A group of up to four predoctoral/postdoctoral students in cases where cooperation was essential for the success of the activity is allowed.
  • Junior faculty nominees must be scientists within 10 years of receiving an advanced degree.
  • Each chapter may only submit one nomination per category per year.
  • Nominee may not be a recipient of another SfN travel award in the same year. 

This opportunity has expired. It was originally published here:

Eligible Countries
Host Country
Publish Date
May 01, 2015