Join ARMACAD Today

Join over 100,000 researchers, students and professionals.

Subscribe and get new opportunities every day.

Sign Up

International Water Centre Master Scholarships, Australia


August 01, 2015


Opportunity Cover Image - International Water Centre Master Scholarships, Australia
The IWC Masters Scholarships are prestigious scholarships awarded annually to high calibre candidates who clearly demonstrate potential to become future water leaders. Scholarships are available to study the IWC Master of Integrated Water Management (MIWM).

2016 Scholarships - now open!

Applications are currently open for international candidates (closing: 1 August 2015)

You are an international candidate if you are not a citizen of Australia or New Zealand or Australian permanent resident. Otherwise you are a domestic candidate. If you are a domestic candidate click hereto review available scholarships.

Available scholarships

The International WaterCentre (IWC) will be offering up to three scholarships for international candidates for full-time study of the MIWM program starting in Semester 1, 2016. These include:

Scholarships details

A - Full tuition and full living costs scholarships (up to two available)


Each scholarship is valued at approximately AU$ 89,811 and will cover:

  • Full tuition fees for full-time study of the IWC Master of Integrated Water Management program commencing in 2016 (valued at AU$ 49,920 over 18 months)
  • Return air travel to Australia (single return, economy class airfare to and from Australia, via the most direct route up to a maximum of AU$ 2,500)
  • Cost of student visa for a single student (valued at AU$ 535)
  • Overseas Student Health Cover (valued at AU$ 856 for 18 months)
  • Living costs stipend (valued at AU 36,000 for 16 months) payable in equal monthly instalments

Targeted to

International candidates who meet eligibility requirements (see below) and hold citizenship from a list of developing countries in Asia-Pacific, Africa, South and Central America, the Caribbean, Europe and the Middle East:

Afghanistan; Albania; Algeria; Angola; Anguilla; Antigua and Barbuda; Argentina; Armenia; Aruba; Azerbaijan; Bahamas; Bangladesh; Barbados; Belarus; Belize; Benin; Bermuda; Bhutan; Bolivia; Bosnia-Herzegovina; Botswana; Brazil; Bulgaria; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cambodia; Cameroon; Cape Verde; Cayman Islands; Central African Republic; Chad; Chile; China; Christmas Island; Cocos (Keeling) Islands; Colombia; Comoros; Congo, Democratic Republic of the (Zaire); Congo, Republic of; Cook Islands; Costa Rica; Cuba; Djibouti; Dominica; Dominican Republic; Ecuador; Egypt; El Salvador; Equatorial Guinea; Eritrea; Ethiopia; Falkland Islands; Fiji; French Guyana; Gabon; Gambia; Georgia; Ghana; Grenada; Guadeloupe (French); Guatemala; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Guyana; Haiti; Honduras; India; Indonesia; Iran; Iraq; Ivory Coast (Cote D'Ivoire); Jamaica; Jordan; Kazakhstan; Kenya; Kiribati; Kosovo; Kyrgyzstan; Laos; Lebanon; Lesotho; Liberia; Libya; Macedonia; Madagascar; Malawi; Malaysia; Maldives; Mali; Marshall Islands; Martinique (French); Mauritania; Mauritius; Mexico; Micronesia; Moldova; Mongolia; Montenegro; Montserrat; Morocco; Mozambique; Myanmar; Namibia; Nauru; Nepal; Netherlands Antilles; New Caledonia (French); Nicaragua; Niger; Nigeria; Niue; Norfolk Island; North Korea; Pakistan; Palau; Panama; Papua New Guinea; Paraguay; Peru; Philippines; Pitcairn Island; Polynesia (French); Puerto Rico; Rwanda; Saint Helena; Saint Kitts and Nevis; Saint Lucia; Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; Samoa; Sao Tome and Principe; Senegal; Serbia; Seychelles; Sierra Leone; Solomon Islands; Somalia; South Africa; South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands; South Sudan; Sri Lanka; Sudan; Suriname; Swaziland; Syria; Tajikistan; Tanzania; Thailand; Timor-Leste (East Timor); Togo; Tokelau; Tonga; Trinidad and Tobago; Tunisia; Turkey; Turkmenistan; Turks and Caicos Islands; Tuvalu; Uganda; Ukraine; Uruguay; Uzbekistan; Vanuatu; Venezuela; Vietnam; Virgin Islands; Wallis and Futuna; Yemen; Zambia; Zimbabwe.

B. One full tuition scholarship for a future water leader from a list of selected countries


This scholarship is valued at approximately AU$ 50,776 and will cover:

  • Full tuition fees for full-time study of the IWC Master of Integrated Water Management program commencing in 2016 (valued at AU$ 49,920 over 18 months)
  • Overseas Student Health Cover (valued at AU$ 856 for 18 months)

Targeted to

International candidates who meet eligibility requirements (see below) and hold citizenship from a list of selected countries in North America, Europe, the Middle East and Asia:

Andorra; Austria; Bahrain; Belgium; Brunei; Canada; Croatia; Cyprus; Czech Republic; Denmark; Estonia; Finland; France; Germany; Greece; Greenland; Hong Kong; Hungary; Iceland; Ireland; Israel; Italy; Japan; Kuwait; Latvia; Liechtenstein; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Macau; Malta; Monaco; Netherlands; Norway; Oman; Poland; Portugal; Qatar; Romania; Russia; San Marino; Saudi Arabia; Singapore; Slovakia; Slovenia; South Korea; Spain; Sweden; Switzerland; Taiwan; United Arab Emirates; United Kingdom; United States of America.

Eligibility requirements

To apply for a scholarship, you must have all of the following:

  • A completed undergraduate degree in a related field of study from an internationally-recognised institution;
  • At least two years of professional experience (paid work or volunteering experience) relevant to the program;

Although professional experience is not essential for admission in the MIWM program, candidates with relevant professional experience have a higher chance of securing a scholarship – see Selection Criteria below.

  • International candidates must also demonstrate English Language Proficiency (see UQ’s Policy including minimum scores for IELTS, TOEFL or PTE). A proof of English language proficiency needs to be uploaded with the online application form.

Terms and Conditions

Before you apply for a scholarship, please read the IWC Masters Scholarships Terms and Conditions (PDF).

How to apply

Applications for IWC Masters Scholarships are currently open. To apply, complete an online application form by 1 August 2015.

You are an 'international candidate' if you are not an Australian citizen, an Australian permanent resident nor a New Zealand citizen.

Eligible Countries
Host Country
Study Levels
Publish Date
May 26, 2015


Subscribe to our newsletter

and receive information about international academic and professional opportunities

scholarships, summer schools, conferences, grants, fellowships, trainings

Sign Up